Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
So much work for nothing. It wasn't even eatable. After adding all the ingredients, the dough didn't rise - I'm guessing it wasn't warm enough. The amount of salt is way too much, they weren't even sweet. I love conchas and followed this recipe closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Mine didn't turn out right. The stuff you put on time did though. My bread came out like rocks nearly. I gave it 3 stars becaues I think the recipe is off some what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Ugly Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Instructions are very easy to follow, made them for my family and everyone loved them. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
As a Mexican I love conchas. They are a tradition. I have been craving some lately and my husband decided to make some for me. I'm glad he did. I loved them not only because he made them for me but because they were very good... but beware... these are not quite like the real conchas! (flavorwise) My husband followed the recipe exactly as it is and they turned out beautiful. The only thing he did differently was leaving the yeast in the warm water for a few minutes as it was suggested by other members... And, oh yeah, he omitted the cinnamon on the topping. He did have a bit of a problem with the topping but that's when my niece came to the rescue and she did a beautiful concha like toppping. I really liked the bread. Not quite a concha but it was really good to satisfy my craving! My husband says he will try making more again adding other flavors to the topping to see if he can get the real concha flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I thought the recipe should have included letting the yeast bloom and foam in the warm water for a few minutes before adding the other ingredients. The first time I tried the recipe the dough wouldn't rise. It also needed to included temperature of liquid. I warmed the milk a little so that the yeast could bloom. I had to add a little extra milk. I think if one really knows the science behind bread and yeast it could be a great recipe but for someone that has little to no experience with yeast breads it could be a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These taste just like the ones from my mexican bakery! With the topping I made two colors and added almond extract to one color, vanilla to the other. I also doubled the recipe and made the pastries 2 inches across to make just over 50 of them. I took them to a gathering at my Tia's house and everyone loved them and couldn't believe I made them! These are also really good dipped in coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These are delicious. Used my bread machine to mix and raise the dough (worked great). Had a problem with the topping, but only because I had to defrost my butter in the microwave and it made it to soft. Had to spread it on like thick frosting, but it worked fine and they are TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I followed the directions exactly but my dough didnt rise. The bread was not light, but they still tasted great. I will make them again and hopefully they'll come out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Mine didn't turn out looking like the pictured ones. I didn't add any crisscrossing so maybe that's why. They tasted like cinnamon buns. I found they tasted the best when I cut them in half, put some margarine on them and placed them in the microwave for 20 seconds. I would definitely make these again sometime. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I love conchas, i grew up eating them with hot coco (or chocolate caliente). I just wished they could have been more fluffy. But great recipe! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States