Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe for conchas. The dough rose nicely for me, they baked well, and the finished product was a medium soft bread with a satisfyingly crunchy top. My family said they reminded them of cinnamon buns (both in scent and flavor). Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
These are soooo yummy!!! I love the vanilla topping and I lowered the oven temp to 325
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by csantare

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
AWESOME!!! I used to eat this every Sunday with hot chocolate. My grandpa would always go to the Mexican market and pick this up after church. After my grandpa left, the tradition stopped. I have been wanting to bring it back and what better way than making it with the kids!!! Te querro mucho abuelo! I'm gonna share this with all my tias and primos so this can become our family tradition after Sunday mass
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loriMoran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
These were pretty good! They are light, soft and just a hint of sweetness. My 2 year old son really liked these, too. I tried the pan dulce recipe on here and found the dough to be dense, but tasted good. I may have let the dough work too much in the bread machine. With this recipe (conchas- mex. sweet bread) I made sure to pull the dough out as soon as it came together in the bread machine and not allow the whole dough cycle to run through. I halved the recipe and instead of 6 rolls, I made 12 good sized rolls. They were about the size of a tennis ball. I did follow the recipe and ingredients but added 1 teaspoon vanilla to the dough. The ones at the bakery seem to have a dryer texture and more course. I am used to those kind, but these were better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great tasting recipe! Will definitely make it again and again. My husband and I loved it! I did have to add a bit of water to the cinnamon topping to be able to roll it into a ball before placing it on top of the ball of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Maybe more of an americanized version of a concha- but so delish! Used 3-1/2 cups flour and used 1/2 butter 1/2 crisco in the dough part of the recipe- omitted the cinnamon- and added vanilla-used regular milk instead of evaporated- Did it all in the bread machine- worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
We made these for our Girl Scout Thinking Day today. They were a huge hit and are so delicious!! for those having a problem with the density of the dough...I actually did them overnight. I made the dough and rolled with the topping the night before. While making the dough let the yeast bloom in the warm water first for 10minutes or until foamy. Then proceed with recipe. Proof to double in a warm place (very important). Roll and top with topping and place rolls on a baking sheet. Then in the morning set the oven at 200 degrees with a bowl of water at the bottom. Turned off the oven, add the rolls and let the breads proof to double. Remove from the oven and preheat to 375 degrees. Bake as directed. They weren't dense at all and were light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Loved the crust, but the actual bread was a little too dense fro my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This recipe is great! It tastes just like the bread I buy at the bakery.Its the only recipe I found that doesn't use lard and that's great.My husband and I loved it!I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Horrible never doing them again after trying them twice,dont waste your time on this conchas there like rocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof2grl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States