Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Pretty and yummy! I can't really state if the bread is authentic or not because I never had them before. I describe the bread as dense & a bit dry but of course the sugar topping makes this delicious. If I were to make this again, I would use my favorite dough. Make sure to have a plate or napkin because the topping will crumble when you bite to em'. The only change I made was to use regular milk instead of evap. milk. I had used up the evap milk from making a different batch. I think reviewers are getting confuse with the topping not being "thick paste". They should take that out of the directions. Well, I admit, I was a bit confused too when I started making it, but I followed the topping ingredients and as long as it can be formed into balls and flatten into discs, you're good to go. Also, I halved the recipe and made 12 sweet breads. I think its a perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Excellent Recipe... just like the ones in the Mexican Bakery. The shell design is not as hard as I thought it would be too. A few pointers: Be sure to watch them! Mine got a tad darker real quick. Eat them right away! If you can also split the topping in more ways and make different flavors. A traditional one is Cocoa (my favorite!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biblesensei

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
These turned out good; however, the topping never resembled "a thick paste". I think you should divide the vanilla between the two topping bowls to make the dough stick together better. The cinnamon topping was dry and crumbly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These were wonderful! Never having eaten one before, I was trying to make something from my husbands childhood and he said these were better than he remembered. Our neighbors also went crazy for them-will be making these again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Good recipe. I took the advice of some reviewers and broke it down into smaller rolls. In total, I had 18 and they were plenty big. It was cool out the day that I tried the recipe, so I used the oven at 100 degrees to keep my dough warm while it raised. The end product was a little denser than I had hoped, but the topping was delicious. In order to shorten cooking time, I plan to try making rolls out of my favorite boxed hot roll mix and using that as the base for the sweet topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Princess *E*
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I thought this recipe was pretty easy, but it took me three times to make it right. ha ha... Couple of changes I made: 3 teaspoons of yeast let it rest for 15 mins. Used low fat milk. Let my dough rise in preheated oven 200. (but of course make sure the oven is off, before putting your dough in it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess *E*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA
Living In: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Wow! i tried this recipe and it came out good! thank a lot! its the first bread recipe i have tried!! it only took 15 minutes to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This recipe is amazing! No more buying bread at the Panderia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I am updating my original review to 5 stars. My hubby had told me the first time I made them they were better than any bakery. I thought he was being sweet. But, I made them today and sent 2 home with a Mexican man who is doing some tile work for us. He actually called my husband when he got home and told him they tasted like what he used to eat in Mexico and both his wife and kids absolutely loved them! That made me feel pretty good since I am just a white girl...lol. I only made one change to the recipe---I added an extra egg yolk. I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Easy to make, but didn't care for the dough or the topping. To me, I think the dough should have been slightly sweeter and less dense. The topping was okay, but the texture was a bit odd. Put together, it was pretty flavorless. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELUNE13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States