Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Delicious! Brings back memories. Thank you :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Followed the instructions and they came out perfect! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickerz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acovarrubias
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
My husband loves Conchas! So I thought I would try and make them myself. I tried this recipe today and they taste wonderful! The only thing I will do different next time is in step #4. I will let the Conchas rise for about 1 1/2 hours before I place the topping. My topping spread apart really wide in between where I made the cuts, due to the bread rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is great! The bread comes out very soft. Loved it thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My Latino boyfriend didn't like them at all, he only ate half of one-he eats everything. My son didn't like them either. I thought they were tasty, but the bottoms kind of burnt, but I had to keep them in that long to make them cook through. The times for rising need to be adjusted. These are very dense. I made them as directed with no adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Just finished making these conchas and they were DELICIOUS!!! I added about a 1/4 tsp of anise seeds to the dough witch gave it extra flavor. I also added a 1/4 tsp. of cocoa powder to the cinnamon topping. I would also recommened letting the water and yeast sit for about 10 minutes before starting the dough and also warming the milk just a tad bit. I am definitely making these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
It's my first time to make a bread,and I'm glad that I made it well..It's really Hard to knead a dough, it takes me more than 30 minutes before the dough becomes elastic and smooth..But in exchange, I had a delicious snack.. Thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mia_M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Mony
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Best conchas I've ever tasted, recipe wasn't too hard either which I loved! Definitely proof the yeast and warm up the milk. I only made the topping vanilla too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Decent bread, but not authentic!!! I've lived in Mexico for 7 years. I was really excited to try this recipe, and don't get me wrong, it turned out fine... But absolutely nothing like real Mexican sweet bread, which my husband and I enjoy from a local bakery regularly. My (Mexican) husband agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States