Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is great! The bread comes out very soft. Loved it thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My Latino boyfriend didn't like them at all, he only ate half of one-he eats everything. My son didn't like them either. I thought they were tasty, but the bottoms kind of burnt, but I had to keep them in that long to make them cook through. The times for rising need to be adjusted. These are very dense. I made them as directed with no adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Just finished making these conchas and they were DELICIOUS!!! I added about a 1/4 tsp of anise seeds to the dough witch gave it extra flavor. I also added a 1/4 tsp. of cocoa powder to the cinnamon topping. I would also recommened letting the water and yeast sit for about 10 minutes before starting the dough and also warming the milk just a tad bit. I am definitely making these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
It's my first time to make a bread,and I'm glad that I made it well..It's really Hard to knead a dough, it takes me more than 30 minutes before the dough becomes elastic and smooth..But in exchange, I had a delicious snack.. Thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mia_M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Mony
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Best conchas I've ever tasted, recipe wasn't too hard either which I loved! Definitely proof the yeast and warm up the milk. I only made the topping vanilla too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Decent bread, but not authentic!!! I've lived in Mexico for 7 years. I was really excited to try this recipe, and don't get me wrong, it turned out fine... But absolutely nothing like real Mexican sweet bread, which my husband and I enjoy from a local bakery regularly. My (Mexican) husband agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
So I am pretty good at following recipes, but for the life of me the two times I have tried making these, I get horrible results. I am starting to wonder if its the yeast I am using because I used the same one both times; however, the second time I let it sit a long time to let the foam come up with the yeast/water mixture and the second time was better but definitely can't agree with all the other reviewers giving this recipe rave reviews. Sorry. I am looking for another concha recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I've never made conchas, but I've eaten them since a child. My daughter loves them now too. I buy them at our local meat market and they are hit or miss. These were awesome! My daughter and I devoured 2 right out of the oven! I followed the directions exactly as written. It's cold here today, so I turned my oven to 200 and then turned it off to keep the dough and make it double. These took some time to make, but the recipe is so easy and worth it! Thanks so much. I will definately be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Secret tip: I tried this recipe for the first time. The first time the taste was great, but following directions I got very small and compact breads. Second time. I put the dough covered in warm oven(off) and let the dough rise to double. About 1 hr 1/2. Then I punched it down,made the dough balls,place them on cookie sheet,flatten them a bit, place topping,make decoration,. I then placed them back in the warm oven (off) and let them rise about 2 hrs. They were huge!!! Just be patient and let the dough rise. You won't be disappointed. I used about close to 3 tsp yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States