Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by mari
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
very good... and not hard to make...pretty close to the ones you buy at the bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deven
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I grew up on these and they were almost exactly like I remembered. My family loved them. I wanted a recipe that I could make for my mothers visit and I found it. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila007
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
My son begged me to make these for International Day at school. They were time consuming, but well worth the effort. I will definetly make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very sweet and very yummy! I sent these to a spanish/english class my husband helps out with and they were gone, gone, gone! :-) I made the dough in the bread machine and the topping by hand. Excellent!!!!! My kids asked me to make them again.....soon! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I couldn't get the dough to rise correctly making these very dense and not like real conchas. But I actually liked them better this way and my husband devoured them. The topping is perfect, I have tried many recipes and this one is definately the best. The only thing I changed was no cinnamon in the topping, I added Mexican vanilla instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by my3littlangls
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Love these. Ive been dying for some of these for 3 years! Now i dont have to wait until we get back to the states, i can make them, and they are easy too. Did the first 1/2 in my bread machine =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Not really satisfied with how they turned out, though my family liked them. I thought they were quite dense and sort of gummy and the bottoms were a little too brown. I miss them though, I moved from California, were you can find them anywhere, to the northeast. Like the other reviewers, I think 15 mins would bake them perfectly. Next time I will only make a single batch and put a little bit more yeast and knead the dough a few more minutes and see how they turn out. The frosting came out perfect, I wouldnt change anything. Will keep you updated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
i made this 4 my language art class. my sister also nagged me to make it. the first time i was so frustrated because i kept screwing up. 1. i used 65% oil spread margarine for the topping and the results was kind of gooey/gummy. i added about 1/8cp of flour til it was like soft dough/clay or spritz dough. 2. the topping melted a bit because the oven wasn't completely preheated. my fault. 3. if you don't want to make two different topping, here is a suggestion. make the topping as directed, exept that you add both cinamon and vanilla before adding the flour. i added around 1/8 cp flour or til like soft dough. its just an easier to handle version of the cinnamon topping. 4. i used 1/4cp water and 3/4cp milk since i couldn't find evaporated milk. 5. i baked it at 350-375 F for about 15 mins. i checked the bottom of the bun to see if it was finished. it should be a bit more than golden brown. *another thing is that you can remake a half of the topping if you screwed up. just half the topping. i also used powdered sugar for the dough and topping cuz i ran out of granulated. there's no difference. not that i noticed. i also made 20 conchas like suggested. i quartered the dough to make it easier for equal size. each quart make five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This smelled so wonderful. It's unmistakeable. The bread part was soft and not sweet, spot on. I ran into a little bit of trouble with the topping. Preparation was no problem but it was a little too crunchy and sweet. In mexican bakeries the topping is more powdery and less sweet. Next time I think I'll make with with 1/2 c sugar and 1 1/4 c flour. I'll update after I make that one. Also, that much cinnamon seemed out of place unless that's the flavor you were looking for. To make a more plain version I used 1/4 tsp of cinnamon in the dough and I used none in the topping and opted for 2 tsp of mexican vanilla instead. Used 6 drops red food coloring. Overall, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This recipe is awesome, very original taste! I've done it two times this past week and i'm getting ready to make conchas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States