Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I am also from Mexico and believe me when I tell you that I've had many conchas.I really didn't like this recipe and I consider myself an excellent cook and baker.I give this recipe a *** because yes they were edible but did not taste like conchas.They are very dense and nothing like this fluffy goodness of real conchas.The topping I must say was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is a great recipe! It really tastes like a panaderia concha! I'm from Mexico and I really recommend this recipe if you are looking for authentic Mexican sweet bread recipe! My family loved them. I still can't believe I can bake this at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
These Conchas are a huge hit with everyone I've shared it wtih. My girlfriends all asked for the recipe and their husbands all asked how much longer until they could have more. Thanks so much for this great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Grimshaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I used coconut extract instead of vanilla, just because I can't find many uses for it. My Mexican husband said they taste just like the ones they sell in Mexico. I was disappointed with the topping mixture, because it melted, and flowed onto the pan, making the cut square design on top stretch... I'm guessing it was from the liquid in the extract. My husband said sometimes they're deformed like that... Next time I'll try the cinnamon topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
the best!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Took a bit of time, but so worth it! I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars because I'm sure that I did something wrong -- no one else complained about getting dense little lumps topped with sugar. On the bright side, I sliced and buttered the lumps and toasted them until brown. I'm not kidding, they tasted just like bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Photo by mari
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
very good... and not hard to make...pretty close to the ones you buy at the bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deven
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I grew up on these and they were almost exactly like I remembered. My family loved them. I wanted a recipe that I could make for my mothers visit and I found it. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila007
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
My son begged me to make these for International Day at school. They were time consuming, but well worth the effort. I will definetly make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States