Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
These were good. Not quite what I was expecting but good. They're like a light, fluffy bread with a sweet topping. I found that topping does get stale quickly so they don't keep for too long. The men of the family ate them up very quickly, but most of us girls didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
follow the instructions and you can't go wrong. They came out awesome- even with my 3 year olds "help" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I thought these were great. My husband who I was making them for (and who is Hispanic) wasn't as impressed with them as I was. He said they were good, but not what he was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
they were so yummy! the best conchas i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I must not have made these correctly...not quite what I expected. My topping didnt mold correctly into shape and the bottoms burned at 20 minutes. They are good, just not perfect. I will try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very authentic taste! I made some adaptions with the condensed milk, which I substituted it with soy milk, and it turned out just fine. Suggestion: I think that there is too much topping, so you do not have to use it all... also, I do not know if I didn't measure correctly, or if the weather in my kitchen was dry, but the topping was a bit to dry to form. I will definitely make these again. A triumph! Better than at the store. Of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These were perfect...slightly sweet and wonderful with coffee. I made just two modifications. I never use the full amount of flour called for in yeast breads recipes. I stirred in 3 and 1/2 c of the flour and then kneaded in enough of the rest of the 1/2 c to make the dough manageable. It did not require the full 4 cups. And, since I use a very potent cinnamon, I used only 1 tsp in the topping and splashed in a little almond extract as well so that the cinnamon topping was as moist as the vanilla. These are large rolls, so you could easily cut 16 instead of 12 and they would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! I thought the topping was going to be hard to put on the rolls. I found out that if you flatten the topping on clear wrap, the topping is easy to lift and put on the rolls. My entire family enjoyed these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I've been looking for a Conchas recipe for a while. I made this last night but was disappointed in the outcome of the bread. It was way too heavy. I was expecting a lighter bread like in the Mexican bakeries. However, the topping came out perfect. My kids loved the bread and disagree with my opinion. Also, next time I will reduce the cinnamon as another rater suggested. I also gave this recipe a low rating because, the topping instructions did not provide information on what to use to make the chocolate topping or other colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Awesome recipe. Yes, they take some time to make and yes, they take some skill, but they turned out perfectly. I used my stand mixer and let the dough rise quite awhile the first time since it was cold in my kitchen. One secret to patting out the topping is to knead each ball in your hand for a minute to warm it up. Then pat it out on waxed paper and lay it on top of the bread. I also flattened out each dough ball a little so they would be more like hamburger bun shape which is what I'm used to from bakeries. Excellent recipe and I will definitely make this again. The bread turned out light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBrooksStead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States