Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
this is the 2nd time doing this conchas...they came out pretty good! You can definitely cut on the sugar (they're too sweet for me) and start checking in the oven after 15 min... they can burn easily... (made 12) oh, instead of cinnamon for the coating, I used cocoa powder, just add a tbsp. yummi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this recipe exactly and the Conchas came out exactly like the ones Ftom Panaderia's. They are one of my favorite sweets, but 7 yes ago I found out I was allergic to dairy and most of them either have dairy or are made in kitchens that do, have not had one in about 4yrs. The dough is dense, it's supposed to be, you just have to make sure when the dough rises, that it rises in a most warm place, preferably a proofer, but if not, as other ppl will mention a warm oven and a bowl of water will work just as well. The key is not the time for Rising, the key is that it has to double, so even if it takes longer, make sure that it doubles. :-) did not have any issues with the amount of of flour, the sugar mixture (i think paste is a fairly accurate description for the consistency it needs to be to cover the precooked buns), orcooking time either. When I ate them fresh out of the oven, they did not taste as I remembered, but after that sat a few hours, they tasted just as I remembered the ones from the Panaderia tasting. Bottom line, I don't think the recipe is why people aren't getting these to come out right, it's the people not making certain they rise enough before cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by godssoulsinger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I haven't baked them yet, but the description of how to put the recipe together is so ridiculously stupid, it makes no sense whatsoever. I'm an avid baker, and I'd have to say that this recipe (description) is a joke. There is no way this works at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Not sure why there are ANY bad reviews on here. I'm not the greatest baker and made these easily. They turned out great! They are a little more dense though. If you pop one in the microwave for 15 seconds they're soft as a doughnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
i have made these several times, this recipe is pretty close to perfection. My mother's new husband was born and raised in the heart of mexico, and usually has something negative to say about my cooking, but when i make these he has nothing to say at all because he is busy scarfing these bad boys down! My kids love them too and it is so much cheaper than paying for them in stores, and definately better tasting than any store brand. I will be using this recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauchula, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Delicious! Brings back memories. Thank you :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Followed the instructions and they came out perfect! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acovarrubias
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
My husband loves Conchas! So I thought I would try and make them myself. I tried this recipe today and they taste wonderful! The only thing I will do different next time is in step #4. I will let the Conchas rise for about 1 1/2 hours before I place the topping. My topping spread apart really wide in between where I made the cuts, due to the bread rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is great! The bread comes out very soft. Loved it thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States