Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Allanita
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is a great recipe, easy and tasty. The only thing I would like to advice you is that instead of making 12 big conchas (on a 12 portions recipe) make the balls or conchas smaller around 20, they are easier to handle and the crust seems to hold better than in the bigger ones. I had a blast making them and the crust was so easy to decorate. In mexico usually we make not just the shells all kinds of decorations use your imagination...Thanks again for the recipe...they are delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
357 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allanita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I thought that this was pretty easy and love the buttery taste of the topping. The recipe calls for 4 cups of flour, but I only used 3 cups. I did let it rest for 10 minutes before rolling into balls. After reading reviews I decided to use 3 teaspoons of yeast and for those of you who don't know how to measure 3/8 cup of sugar, I googled it and it said use 1/2 cup minus 2 tablespoons. I did take the advice from a review that said to heat the milk, which I did for about 20 seconds. Please watchful of the time!! I did 15 minutes and it was starting to over cook I think 12-13 mins will work. It was cooked all the way threw also. Will make again thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very sweet and very yummy! I sent these to a spanish/english class my husband helps out with and they were gone, gone, gone! :-) I made the dough in the bread machine and the topping by hand. Excellent!!!!! My kids asked me to make them again.....soon! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
We made these for our Girl Scout Thinking Day today. They were a huge hit and are so delicious!! for those having a problem with the density of the dough...I actually did them overnight. I made the dough and rolled with the topping the night before. While making the dough let the yeast bloom in the warm water first for 10minutes or until foamy. Then proceed with recipe. Proof to double in a warm place (very important). Roll and top with topping and place rolls on a baking sheet. Then in the morning set the oven at 200 degrees with a bowl of water at the bottom. Turned off the oven, add the rolls and let the breads proof to double. Remove from the oven and preheat to 375 degrees. Bake as directed. They weren't dense at all and were light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Incredible!!!! This is an excellent recipe. An instant hit and addition to my recipe box. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was really good. Only change I made was in the topping, instead of using vanilla extract in half, I used almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Great little sweet bread, just like the ones in the mexican pan shops. I made 12 that were smaller then i expected so next time i will double the recipe and make 12 big conchas like the ones i remember. Eat them fast or the topping losses its crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe came out too heavy -- even doubling the rising time the dough was unable to rise to 125%, much less 200%, and the conchas came out heavy and gluey. I spent a total of 15 minutes actually working on it. It's a bummer, because I love conchas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I loved these conchas. They are much denser than the conchas you get in most panaderias but I actually prefer them this way. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe. The one thing is that I found it doesn't take quite 20 minutes but more like 15 (I do live in a high altitude city, that probably has something to do with it). But they turned out so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States