Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I thought the recipe should have included letting the yeast bloom and foam in the warm water for a few minutes before adding the other ingredients. The first time I tried the recipe the dough wouldn't rise. It also needed to included temperature of liquid. I warmed the milk a little so that the yeast could bloom. I had to add a little extra milk. I think if one really knows the science behind bread and yeast it could be a great recipe but for someone that has little to no experience with yeast breads it could be a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These taste just like the ones from my mexican bakery! With the topping I made two colors and added almond extract to one color, vanilla to the other. I also doubled the recipe and made the pastries 2 inches across to make just over 50 of them. I took them to a gathering at my Tia's house and everyone loved them and couldn't believe I made them! These are also really good dipped in coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These are delicious. Used my bread machine to mix and raise the dough (worked great). Had a problem with the topping, but only because I had to defrost my butter in the microwave and it made it to soft. Had to spread it on like thick frosting, but it worked fine and they are TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsBug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I followed the directions exactly but my dough didnt rise. The bread was not light, but they still tasted great. I will make them again and hopefully they'll come out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Mine didn't turn out looking like the pictured ones. I didn't add any crisscrossing so maybe that's why. They tasted like cinnamon buns. I found they tasted the best when I cut them in half, put some margarine on them and placed them in the microwave for 20 seconds. I would definitely make these again sometime. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I love conchas, i grew up eating them with hot coco (or chocolate caliente). I just wished they could have been more fluffy. But great recipe! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Terrific recipe! My wife made the bread using the ingredients exactly as directed and it was excellent! But instead of making 12 conchas, she cut the portions in half and made 24 - the perfect size. She also baked them only 12 minutes. The dough rose perfectly in a warm oven (1.5 hours and then 45 mintues after applying the topping). The bread was very light and airy, and tasted great with the sugar topping. Thanks to Melissa Amador for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I just got finished making this bread and it was the first time I ever actually tried making a mexican sweet bread myself from scratch. Before now all I had was store bought. All I can say is "OMG", this is the best sweet bread I have ever eaten. I will never go back to store bought again! If you haven't already, you owe it to yourself to try this recipe. It is somewhat time consuming, but oh so worth the effort. If you've ever considered making these, try this recipe. You'll be soooooo glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
The best! Don't really like conchas from mexican bakery, but love these and so does everyone else! Time consuming, but worth it. Have made with and without bread machine, both come out great. When use bread machine, use to knead bread, then take out and continue with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traci82
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These were good but I will have to try again with a different flour. I used a wheat bread flour and my husband said they were good but tasted a little "healthy", lol. The top was fun to work with. I added a little too much vanilla to the half I did that flavor and the artwork I did kinda smoothes away. The cinnamon side was beautiful though. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States