Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Soft, sweet and fragrant. We will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Tasted great, just like the conchas I used to buy at Mexican stores in Arizona. I love conchas and coffee for breakfast, and this recipe hits the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I thought that this was pretty easy and love the buttery taste of the topping. The recipe calls for 4 cups of flour, but I only used 3 cups. I did let it rest for 10 minutes before rolling into balls. After reading reviews I decided to use 3 teaspoons of yeast and for those of you who don't know how to measure 3/8 cup of sugar, I googled it and it said use 1/2 cup minus 2 tablespoons. I did take the advice from a review that said to heat the milk, which I did for about 20 seconds. Please watchful of the time!! I did 15 minutes and it was starting to over cook I think 12-13 mins will work. It was cooked all the way threw also. Will make again thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Photo by peanutswife
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I love making these! They flavor is excellent and they're a lot of fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
ive been buying these for years and finally i can make them at home.my husband and children love them the best.way better than the store bought.even my in laws that are mexican love them!great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This recipe does not taste othentic, the bread is too heavy and the topping is not right, nothing like what you could buy at a panedaria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I thought these were great! Easy to make... I did use a little less flour in the dough though. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These turned out really good. Just like the ones you buy in la panderia. I was attempting to make these during the night as my grandkids slept for a treat. They smell so wonderful cooking they all woke up and insisted on having them right from the oven. They couldnt wait for them to be cool enough to eat. Will make these often as they want some to take to their house too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
These were great! I wouldnt change a thing about it. Although not exactly like the onez in Mexico, this is probably the closest it's gonna get. Thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I am rating these based on my kids' comments, because I don't personally care for conchas. My kids love the sweet bread we buy at the Mexican grocery store, but it can be pretty expensive, so I was happy to find this recipe. They tell me these taste exactly like the ones at the store, only better! The first time I made them, I used the vanilla and cinnamon flavored toppings and the second time I made cinnamon and chocolate (just used unsweetened cocoa powder instead of cinnamon or vanilla extract). I'm looking around to see if I can figure out how to make the strawberry and mango flavored ones so my kids can have all the different varieties available at Vallarta supermarkets. Thanks, Melissa, for giving me the ability to make a special grocery-store treat for my kids at home :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States