Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
MELISSA* Is there any way you can have the recipe for BISCOCHITOS??? They are cinnamon and sugar cookies. If so PLEASE POST. Thank you. I warmed water and milk together in glass measuring cup for about 15-20 seconds in microwave. 115 degrees, then placed in bread pan machine with softened butter. Just made dough in bread machine. Took 1 hour 20 minutes. Took out and kneaded a few times, then divided into 12 pieces, The topping was mixed by handmixer and was crumbly. Put together and made a long rope, then divided. For each topping, I pressed sugar dough onto cutting board and flatten with palm and then sliced a shell pattern with sharp knife, then placed on dough. Rested for 45 min. Baked for 20 minutes. (Next time for 14 minutes). I used vanilla extract for the topping. Shared with neighbors, and they loved them. Hubby really liked them too. Thank you for sharing a great and fantastic recipe. For those who have problems with the dough or topping, use real butter. Make sure water and milk are 115 degrees. This is the difference in results. ***UPDATE****Made again only using 3 cups of all-purpose flour with 1 cup 100% whole wheat with the addition of 1 Tbsp. of Wheat Gluten. Baked for 14 minutes and perfect timing. Came out light and airy. I did make smaller conchas. About 2 dozen. These came out lighter and airy than with all-purpose flour. Either way, both ways came out delicious and fantastic. This is a KEEPER RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I consider myself a breakfast master. I am always looking for new dishes and ways to spruce up the classics. This sweet bread looks and tastes beautiful. It is also simple and impressive. I was very pleased with the results. Next time i'll make them a little smaller, I think a smaller size would be easier for me to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Awesome recipe! My struggle was waiting for the dough to rise- a warm oven works the greatest for it to rise well especially if you're making these more in the night time. Even the 2nd time making it when I ran out of white flour and had to use wheat flour for the topping everyone loved it. I let the dough rise for more like 3 hours for it to really be fluffy inside so it wouldn't be so dense, and the end result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
If u r expecting what u get at the mexican bakery, these are not it. Dough is too heavy, outside crust is slight crunchy. Not airy and light at all. However, they were good in taste...like a cinnamon roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I was expecting this to come out like real conchas given the high rating. Well, it's nothing like real conchas. I'm married to a Mexican, I know. He thinks they're terrible (I'm disappointed too). They came out the texture and consistency of cinnamon rolls. Much too dense and biscuit-y to be a true concha. Plus, none of the conchas we get at a panaderia have cinnamon. Weird. I'm still looking for a good concha recipe because I'm sick of buying them all the time. They're my husbands favorite thing to eat with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This recipe was sooo good. For the topping though I add 2t or cinnamon and 2t of cocoa powder. Also, I didnt use the 4 cups of flour, it was more like 3 cups. Overall, these conchas were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Conchas came out to heavy. Not like the traditional panaderia conchas. any recommendations ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
You must try this recipe. The conchas are so delicious. Not hard at all to make. It did take me aprox. 3 hrs. from start to finish. After mixing the dough a bit I was scared it was not going to rise. After 30 min. in my warm oven it didn't looked like it had risen much. I turned up the heat a little and sure enough it doubled! Yay! I did not divide the topping and I added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon, and 2 Tbs. cocoa. I set the oven at 375 as suggested, but after 15 min. of baking they turned very brown. I did place foil paper on top of the cookie sheets, next time I won't. They looked beautiful. Soft inside and crunchy outside. They tasted better than the bakery. I will make them again with out a doubt. Tasty and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Flavor was ok but the texture was not...kinda sticky yet too hard...will continue to search for a recipe... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This is a pretty good recipe for conchas. The dough rose nicely for me, they baked well, and the finished product was a medium soft bread with a satisfyingly crunchy top. My family said they reminded them of cinnamon buns (both in scent and flavor). Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States