Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Good bread used regular milk instead didn't have evaporated don't know how much of a diffrence the evaporated milk would be for the evaporated milk I think before u put the butter topping on the bread score the bread first then put the topping as the topping when soft is hard to make the clam shell look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
These were fantistic and not really difficult. Mine didn't raise as much as I had hoped, but that was my fault. I made the dough, but wasn't able to actually BAKE it until almost a week later. The topping was a little sticky but I divided it up and made little circles as best as I could, then I dipped the top half of the circle in a little flour and when I put it on the bun I was able to pat it down better. It has been a while since I've had a bakery concha, the topping for these wasn't powdery like I remembered the other being, this was crunchy and fantastic. I ate those right away though, Maybe once they sit the topping will soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Can you use a breadmaker for the dough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written and was excited when I took them out of the oven. They look exactly like the ones from the panaderia but they taste NOTHING like conchas. They don't taste bad though. Maybe I did something wrong, since it it was my first time, but I will not try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These are fantastic! I did substitute bread flour instead of all purpose flour for the dough. Also I didn't have any evaporated milk so I had to use regular, but everything still turned out great. If you have a bread machine, you can use the dough cycle for these and it saves some work. I can't believe how good these are! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Following the recipe, I could not get the topping the right consistency. I had to spread with a spoon over the tops. I also couldn't get the dough to form balls without having cracks that separated uring rising but this was probably due to my lack of skills with dough. Lol. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The bread itself was a bit more dense than other recipes I've tried, but the topping is the best! This is the fifth concha recipe I've tried and I'm keeping it for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Pretty and yummy! I can't really state if the bread is authentic or not because I never had them before. I describe the bread as dense & a bit dry but of course the sugar topping makes this delicious. If I were to make this again, I would use my favorite dough. Make sure to have a plate or napkin because the topping will crumble when you bite to em'. The only change I made was to use regular milk instead of evap. milk. I had used up the evap milk from making a different batch. I think reviewers are getting confuse with the topping not being "thick paste". They should take that out of the directions. Well, I admit, I was a bit confused too when I started making it, but I followed the topping ingredients and as long as it can be formed into balls and flatten into discs, you're good to go. Also, I halved the recipe and made 12 sweet breads. I think its a perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Excellent Recipe... just like the ones in the Mexican Bakery. The shell design is not as hard as I thought it would be too. A few pointers: Be sure to watch them! Mine got a tad darker real quick. Eat them right away! If you can also split the topping in more ways and make different flavors. A traditional one is Cocoa (my favorite!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biblesensei

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
These turned out good; however, the topping never resembled "a thick paste". I think you should divide the vanilla between the two topping bowls to make the dough stick together better. The cinnamon topping was dry and crumbly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States