Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I've never made conchas, but I've eaten them since a child. My daughter loves them now too. I buy them at our local meat market and they are hit or miss. These were awesome! My daughter and I devoured 2 right out of the oven! I followed the directions exactly as written. It's cold here today, so I turned my oven to 200 and then turned it off to keep the dough and make it double. These took some time to make, but the recipe is so easy and worth it! Thanks so much. I will definately be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Secret tip: I tried this recipe for the first time. The first time the taste was great, but following directions I got very small and compact breads. Second time. I put the dough covered in warm oven(off) and let the dough rise to double. About 1 hr 1/2. Then I punched it down,made the dough balls,place them on cookie sheet,flatten them a bit, place topping,make decoration,. I then placed them back in the warm oven (off) and let them rise about 2 hrs. They were huge!!! Just be patient and let the dough rise. You won't be disappointed. I used about close to 3 tsp yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
These conchas were easier to make than I had expected. The only change I made was on the cinnamon topping which kept crumbling. So, I added a little vanilla to make them easier to work with. The taste was there and they looked like conchas but they were just too heavy. Anyone have any suggestions on how to get them a little lighter and more airy? I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Good bread used regular milk instead didn't have evaporated don't know how much of a diffrence the evaporated milk would be for the evaporated milk I think before u put the butter topping on the bread score the bread first then put the topping as the topping when soft is hard to make the clam shell look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
These were fantistic and not really difficult. Mine didn't raise as much as I had hoped, but that was my fault. I made the dough, but wasn't able to actually BAKE it until almost a week later. The topping was a little sticky but I divided it up and made little circles as best as I could, then I dipped the top half of the circle in a little flour and when I put it on the bun I was able to pat it down better. It has been a while since I've had a bakery concha, the topping for these wasn't powdery like I remembered the other being, this was crunchy and fantastic. I ate those right away though, Maybe once they sit the topping will soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Can you use a breadmaker for the dough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written and was excited when I took them out of the oven. They look exactly like the ones from the panaderia but they taste NOTHING like conchas. They don't taste bad though. Maybe I did something wrong, since it it was my first time, but I will not try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These are fantastic! I did substitute bread flour instead of all purpose flour for the dough. Also I didn't have any evaporated milk so I had to use regular, but everything still turned out great. If you have a bread machine, you can use the dough cycle for these and it saves some work. I can't believe how good these are! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Following the recipe, I could not get the topping the right consistency. I had to spread with a spoon over the tops. I also couldn't get the dough to form balls without having cracks that separated uring rising but this was probably due to my lack of skills with dough. Lol. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
The bread itself was a bit more dense than other recipes I've tried, but the topping is the best! This is the fifth concha recipe I've tried and I'm keeping it for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States