Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Delicious! Brings back memories. Thank you :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Followed the instructions and they came out perfect! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickerz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acovarrubias
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
My husband loves Conchas! So I thought I would try and make them myself. I tried this recipe today and they taste wonderful! The only thing I will do different next time is in step #4. I will let the Conchas rise for about 1 1/2 hours before I place the topping. My topping spread apart really wide in between where I made the cuts, due to the bread rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is great! The bread comes out very soft. Loved it thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My Latino boyfriend didn't like them at all, he only ate half of one-he eats everything. My son didn't like them either. I thought they were tasty, but the bottoms kind of burnt, but I had to keep them in that long to make them cook through. The times for rising need to be adjusted. These are very dense. I made them as directed with no adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Just finished making these conchas and they were DELICIOUS!!! I added about a 1/4 tsp of anise seeds to the dough witch gave it extra flavor. I also added a 1/4 tsp. of cocoa powder to the cinnamon topping. I would also recommened letting the water and yeast sit for about 10 minutes before starting the dough and also warming the milk just a tad bit. I am definitely making these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
It's my first time to make a bread,and I'm glad that I made it well..It's really Hard to knead a dough, it takes me more than 30 minutes before the dough becomes elastic and smooth..But in exchange, I had a delicious snack.. Thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mia_M.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Mony
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Best conchas I've ever tasted, recipe wasn't too hard either which I loved! Definitely proof the yeast and warm up the milk. I only made the topping vanilla too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Decent bread, but not authentic!!! I've lived in Mexico for 7 years. I was really excited to try this recipe, and don't get me wrong, it turned out fine... But absolutely nothing like real Mexican sweet bread, which my husband and I enjoy from a local bakery regularly. My (Mexican) husband agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States