Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by my3littlangls
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Love these. Ive been dying for some of these for 3 years! Now i dont have to wait until we get back to the states, i can make them, and they are easy too. Did the first 1/2 in my bread machine =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Not really satisfied with how they turned out, though my family liked them. I thought they were quite dense and sort of gummy and the bottoms were a little too brown. I miss them though, I moved from California, were you can find them anywhere, to the northeast. Like the other reviewers, I think 15 mins would bake them perfectly. Next time I will only make a single batch and put a little bit more yeast and knead the dough a few more minutes and see how they turn out. The frosting came out perfect, I wouldnt change anything. Will keep you updated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
i made this 4 my language art class. my sister also nagged me to make it. the first time i was so frustrated because i kept screwing up. 1. i used 65% oil spread margarine for the topping and the results was kind of gooey/gummy. i added about 1/8cp of flour til it was like soft dough/clay or spritz dough. 2. the topping melted a bit because the oven wasn't completely preheated. my fault. 3. if you don't want to make two different topping, here is a suggestion. make the topping as directed, exept that you add both cinamon and vanilla before adding the flour. i added around 1/8 cp flour or til like soft dough. its just an easier to handle version of the cinnamon topping. 4. i used 1/4cp water and 3/4cp milk since i couldn't find evaporated milk. 5. i baked it at 350-375 F for about 15 mins. i checked the bottom of the bun to see if it was finished. it should be a bit more than golden brown. *another thing is that you can remake a half of the topping if you screwed up. just half the topping. i also used powdered sugar for the dough and topping cuz i ran out of granulated. there's no difference. not that i noticed. i also made 20 conchas like suggested. i quartered the dough to make it easier for equal size. each quart make five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This smelled so wonderful. It's unmistakeable. The bread part was soft and not sweet, spot on. I ran into a little bit of trouble with the topping. Preparation was no problem but it was a little too crunchy and sweet. In mexican bakeries the topping is more powdery and less sweet. Next time I think I'll make with with 1/2 c sugar and 1 1/4 c flour. I'll update after I make that one. Also, that much cinnamon seemed out of place unless that's the flavor you were looking for. To make a more plain version I used 1/4 tsp of cinnamon in the dough and I used none in the topping and opted for 2 tsp of mexican vanilla instead. Used 6 drops red food coloring. Overall, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This recipe is awesome, very original taste! I've done it two times this past week and i'm getting ready to make conchas again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
So good!!! I made them using half whole wheat flour, half white flour and oil instead of butter in the dough. Really delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
while they were quite tasty, they took on a more cinnamon-bread like texture. they were very unlike the bread i purchase at the panerias around town. if anyone has a recipe thats closer, let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOESTOYSEGURA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I love this recipe. It was easy to make. and it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allanita
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is a great recipe, easy and tasty. The only thing I would like to advice you is that instead of making 12 big conchas (on a 12 portions recipe) make the balls or conchas smaller around 20, they are easier to handle and the crust seems to hold better than in the bigger ones. I had a blast making them and the crust was so easy to decorate. In mexico usually we make not just the shells all kinds of decorations use your imagination...Thanks again for the recipe...they are delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allanita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Just finished eating one of these while it still warm from the over. Delicious! I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used regular milk instead of evaporated milk and cut the water and made up the difference with more milk. I also skipped the topping, since I thought it might be too sweet. Without the topping the bread is a little bland, but slightly sweet and rich and has the perfect texture. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DREKADAIR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States