Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I've been looking for a Conchas recipe for a while. I made this last night but was disappointed in the outcome of the bread. It was way too heavy. I was expecting a lighter bread like in the Mexican bakeries. However, the topping came out perfect. My kids loved the bread and disagree with my opinion. Also, next time I will reduce the cinnamon as another rater suggested. I also gave this recipe a low rating because, the topping instructions did not provide information on what to use to make the chocolate topping or other colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Awesome recipe. Yes, they take some time to make and yes, they take some skill, but they turned out perfectly. I used my stand mixer and let the dough rise quite awhile the first time since it was cold in my kitchen. One secret to patting out the topping is to knead each ball in your hand for a minute to warm it up. Then pat it out on waxed paper and lay it on top of the bread. I also flattened out each dough ball a little so they would be more like hamburger bun shape which is what I'm used to from bakeries. Excellent recipe and I will definitely make this again. The bread turned out light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LotusX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I am also from Mexico and believe me when I tell you that I've had many conchas.I really didn't like this recipe and I consider myself an excellent cook and baker.I give this recipe a *** because yes they were edible but did not taste like conchas.They are very dense and nothing like this fluffy goodness of real conchas.The topping I must say was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is a great recipe! It really tastes like a panaderia concha! I'm from Mexico and I really recommend this recipe if you are looking for authentic Mexican sweet bread recipe! My family loved them. I still can't believe I can bake this at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariela Does Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
These Conchas are a huge hit with everyone I've shared it wtih. My girlfriends all asked for the recipe and their husbands all asked how much longer until they could have more. Thanks so much for this great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I used coconut extract instead of vanilla, just because I can't find many uses for it. My Mexican husband said they taste just like the ones they sell in Mexico. I was disappointed with the topping mixture, because it melted, and flowed onto the pan, making the cut square design on top stretch... I'm guessing it was from the liquid in the extract. My husband said sometimes they're deformed like that... Next time I'll try the cinnamon topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
the best!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Took a bit of time, but so worth it! I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars because I'm sure that I did something wrong -- no one else complained about getting dense little lumps topped with sugar. On the bright side, I sliced and buttered the lumps and toasted them until brown. I'm not kidding, they tasted just like bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Photo by mari
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
very good... and not hard to make...pretty close to the ones you buy at the bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States