Conch Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This came out better than restaurant conch fritters!! I made a couple of changes, I used 1/4 cup corn flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour, used 2 cups of conch (be sure to chop them up real small, I chopped them up too big), omitted onion and bell pepper. This came out so good. I can't wait to cook them for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I lived in the US Virgin Islands for 6yrs. I would have to say after eating conch fritters for at least that long, that these are just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.  D
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I have tried this recipe only to find that it does very well without adding green peppers. Still has great taste. I had to increase the flour to a full cup I also added approx. 4 full conch, not all markets sell just one cup. Dipping sauce was too mayonaise based so I reduced that to 1 tsp and added equal amount of horseradish sauce for a nice kick and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.  D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it is DELICIOUS!!! it's hard to find authentic recipes like this unless your from the islands but this one is spot on. Being from the USVI, this is one of my favorite Sunday recipes and your recipe is exact to mine exept I serve my fritters with a mango and papaya chutney dipping sauce and my family loves it every Sunday along with some stew conch and rice. Here is my version; ) I do everything stated in this recipe except you might have to add a bit more flour and milk and I also add 1/2 cup of cornmeal. I also use puerto rican sweet peppers minced instead of bell peppers and if I so use bell peppers it's minced red bell pepper. I also add a packet of sazon And/or a boullibon cube for that added flavor and my choice of seasoning salt is lawrys. I never leave out the celery peppers or onions what is an island dish without them!!!!! Instead for those who don't like the "crunchy" taste it gives the fritter mincing the celery and peppers and chopping the onion real small( not minced) then frying the batter on low heat will cook the batter thoroghly and soften the veggies, it will take longer but the flavor is worth it!!! I also add a little chopped cilantro for some extra flavor then serve up with some mango papay chutney and enjoy( I've never tried the dipping sauce recipe.) also we pressure cook our conch for 30-60 min. in the islands or boil for 1-2 hrs in a pot with water and tsp of vinegar. Some also tenderize it before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Yes I've died and gone to heaven... absolutely wonderful!! I actually had some crab too in the freezer so I mixed up some batter to use with the crab.. HUGE HIT too!! The only thing I didn't use was the green pepper and that's only because I actually don't care for it and the sauce is good but I just ate these babies by the handful so I kind of missed out on the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe. Perfect batter. I went 1/2 flour and then !/2 cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
we dont really put celery and green peppers in our conch fritters...but the dipping sauce was right on the t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Fritters were a wonderful consistency and very easy. I used crab as the meat and left out the green peppers. I had to double the recipe, as wanted to use it as a main entree. Even doubled, it yielded only 6 fist sized fritters. Threw in some canned corn and felt I added a lot of the spices. They could have used more, maybe next time will try with some jalepenos, or a hotter sauce. Will do again and want to try different types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaus2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. After a couple trips to the Bahamas I was craving conch fritters and stumbled upon this recipe. So I took a chance and tried it... tastes just like what we had in the Bahamas! I'm a little heavy handed on the spice but all my friends love these. By the way, it tastes just as good with crabmeat. Around here (suburban NY) I can't find fresh conch or crab, but I have found canned versions of both. These fritters are soooo addictive and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Really tasty. Conch needs to be chopped small to be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States