Conch Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs.  D
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I have tried this recipe only to find that it does very well without adding green peppers. Still has great taste. I had to increase the flour to a full cup I also added approx. 4 full conch, not all markets sell just one cup. Dipping sauce was too mayonaise based so I reduced that to 1 tsp and added equal amount of horseradish sauce for a nice kick and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.  D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did mine with chicken breast and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Wow! Thanks for the recipe it was very helpful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Yes I've died and gone to heaven... absolutely wonderful!! I actually had some crab too in the freezer so I mixed up some batter to use with the crab.. HUGE HIT too!! The only thing I didn't use was the green pepper and that's only because I actually don't care for it and the sauce is good but I just ate these babies by the handful so I kind of missed out on the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This came out better than restaurant conch fritters!! I made a couple of changes, I used 1/4 cup corn flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour, used 2 cups of conch (be sure to chop them up real small, I chopped them up too big), omitted onion and bell pepper. This came out so good. I can't wait to cook them for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Really tasty. Conch needs to be chopped small to be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I lived in the US Virgin Islands for 6yrs. I would have to say after eating conch fritters for at least that long, that these are just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
we dont really put celery and green peppers in our conch fritters...but the dipping sauce was right on the t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Cynthia this was OUTSTANDING! I made this last night for our New Years Eve hors' devours table and I was very surprised by the outcome! Most of the conch fritters I have had at restaurants were more like hush puppies. These had a unique shape, great texture and just the right mix of all ingredients. This will go into our favorites cookbook binder for sure! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Fritters were a wonderful consistency and very easy. I used crab as the meat and left out the green peppers. I had to double the recipe, as wanted to use it as a main entree. Even doubled, it yielded only 6 fist sized fritters. Threw in some canned corn and felt I added a lot of the spices. They could have used more, maybe next time will try with some jalepenos, or a hotter sauce. Will do again and want to try different types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaus2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States