Conch Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs.  D
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I have tried this recipe only to find that it does very well without adding green peppers. Still has great taste. I had to increase the flour to a full cup I also added approx. 4 full conch, not all markets sell just one cup. Dipping sauce was too mayonaise based so I reduced that to 1 tsp and added equal amount of horseradish sauce for a nice kick and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.  D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did mine with chicken breast and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Wow! Thanks for the recipe it was very helpful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Yes I've died and gone to heaven... absolutely wonderful!! I actually had some crab too in the freezer so I mixed up some batter to use with the crab.. HUGE HIT too!! The only thing I didn't use was the green pepper and that's only because I actually don't care for it and the sauce is good but I just ate these babies by the handful so I kind of missed out on the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This came out better than restaurant conch fritters!! I made a couple of changes, I used 1/4 cup corn flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour, used 2 cups of conch (be sure to chop them up real small, I chopped them up too big), omitted onion and bell pepper. This came out so good. I can't wait to cook them for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Really tasty. Conch needs to be chopped small to be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I lived in the US Virgin Islands for 6yrs. I would have to say after eating conch fritters for at least that long, that these are just as good, if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
we dont really put celery and green peppers in our conch fritters...but the dipping sauce was right on the t
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Cynthia this was OUTSTANDING! I made this last night for our New Years Eve hors' devours table and I was very surprised by the outcome! Most of the conch fritters I have had at restaurants were more like hush puppies. These had a unique shape, great texture and just the right mix of all ingredients. This will go into our favorites cookbook binder for sure! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Fritters were a wonderful consistency and very easy. I used crab as the meat and left out the green peppers. I had to double the recipe, as wanted to use it as a main entree. Even doubled, it yielded only 6 fist sized fritters. Threw in some canned corn and felt I added a lot of the spices. They could have used more, maybe next time will try with some jalepenos, or a hotter sauce. Will do again and want to try different types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaus2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States