Company Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have made a very similar casserole for many years. I use a small package of Velveeta instead of shreded cheese, which makes it very creamy. I also heat the potatoes in the microwave for about 15-20 minutes, so they are about half-cooked before adding the other ingredients. Otherwise, the casserole tends to cook around the edges before the center is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
For anyone new to this recipe, add the cheese with the rest of the ingredients, put your mixture into a greased baking dish, then sprinkle the top with extra grated cheddar, as well as a nice sprinkle of grated parmesan cheese. Bake as directed and be sure to check your potatoes at the one hour mark. Not all ovens bake the same so a quick check at one hour could save you from burnt potatoes. Once your potatoes are baked, you will have a wonderful tasty side dish to please your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
In the south we call this Hashbrown Potato Casserole. Been making this holiday staple for years! I use cream of mushroom soup (just 1 can) and no dill. I mix everything together including the chesse, melt 1 stick of butter or margarine, put 1/2 in the casserole and use the other half to "grease" the baking dish. YUM! My 2 grown children request this everytime we get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have made a version of this for years, but I use a can of cream of mushroom & cream of chicken to give it some flavor. I also add a stick of melted butter. I then fry up some breadcrumbs with butter and put them on top of the cheese (and i mix some cheese in with the potatoes). The breadcrumbs give it some texture and added flavor. There are times when I've had leftover chicken or leftover bacon, and i chop it up and add it too. This is a very good recipe to change it up in many ways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brewed Awakenings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have made this recipe for over 25 years. It alwaz a favorite at potlucks or when we have people over for dinner. Definitely the cream of chicken soup puts this dish over the top! (Use instead of the cream of celery.) Boiled grated red potatoes if you have the time, instead of hash browns and chopped green onions instead of the regular onion. No dill weed in mine, although I like dill weed. This dish is great with just about any meat. It is also great reheted with eggs in the morning! I crumble up almond or honey nut flakes for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
these were very easy and very good.the dill really compliments this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edwardsfamily5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was not as flavorful as I thought it would be, so I won't be making it again. I have a similar recipe that is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This wasn't the greatest potato dish I've ever had. I think there was too much sour cream involved. I could taste that more than anything else. I may or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Huge hit with my family! Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States