Company Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Great recipe! I made this easy on myself and just used a box of couscous and followed the directions on the back. I then tossed in the garlic, red bell pepper, green onion and cherry tomato. I cut the amount of basil in half. I added a bit more balsamic and added 2 Tbsp. of grated Parmesan right to the mixture. I baked it at 350 for 20 minutes and then topped with some shredded Parmesan cheese. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
As others suggested, I used chicken broth instead of water. I also quatered my cherry tomatoes, and had to substitute regular onion instead of green onions, and added more parmesian cheese than called for. Overall, a great recipe, and my entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Excellent recipe! Very easy and healthy too...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Made this for International Day at my sons school. I never made couscous before but this was DELICIOUS! Will be making this often for our family. I think this would make a great cold salad too the next day - as if there would BE any leftovers ! LOL XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Made this a few times now. The 2nd time I made it I cooked the veggies well enough to omit the baking stage. I dried out the dish too much and is really not necessary. Once the veggies were *ALMOST* cooked through I added the boiling water and the couscous. I used the "ready in 5 minutes" kind. I added the cheese just prior to serving. It came out moist and used less dishes! I continue to make it this way and YES, it makes a nice cold lunch "salad" the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
5 stars because it's a super side dish that is quick and easy. This was a big hit with the adults at our house. I used chicken stock instead of water, omitted the red pepper, cut back on the oil and didn't use salt or pepper and it was great. I made it up to the oven part ahead a little bit and then popped it in the oven 20 before the rest of dinner was ready. I served this with Feta-Stuffed Chicken. It was a wonderful compliment since both recipes have fresh basil. Speaking of basil, I julienned it for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This tasted wonderful - I'd add extra cheese to it and increase the bell peppers - maybe even double them. Also it would be a good idea to chop the basil even though the recipe doesn't tell you to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Delicious and easy! I used chicken broth instead of water (left out the salt because of it), green pepper instead of red (didn't have red), and half a can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh. I didn't have fresh basil, but decided to do around 1/2 tbsp of Italian seasoning instead. This made for a very tasty lunch and I'm sure I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
My family loved this, even my couscous hating husband. It is really a beautiful dish, very pretty for company. My only problem was I splashed a little too much balsamic vinegar on top so some of my couscous looked kind of dark. Still, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I loved this recipe. I used 1 1/2 cups chicken broth instead of 1 to make more moist and flavorful. I did not use tomatoes as I do not like them. I also used regular white onion rather then green onion and added more vinegar. Was VERY flavorful. If yours was not then add more vinegar, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This tasted ok. Kind of bland even though I used chicken stock instead of water to cook couscous and added a little extra balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States