Company Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
This was very good, although I deleted the mushrooms and would add another can of tomato sauce to the beef mixture next time. I'll be making this again--my daughter, who doesn't like beef, gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
This was an excellent recipe. I substituted ground turkey for the beef, and used fresh chopped mushrooms. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKEHINZE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This was a yummy alternative to mac'n'cheese. It's amazing how much you can taste that little bit of cinnamon! We left off the mushrooms (since we're allergic) and doubled the cheese. It definately makes more than 5 servings (more like 8-10), but it's good as leftovers. Not fancy enough for company, but great for a family with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Very disappointing; found casserole very bland and tasteless, barely edible. If I do make again, I would use a flavored pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce to improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Really good! It was just like lasagna without all of the fuss. Uses ingredients we usually have on hand. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Great dish...easy and kids love it! I used plain old tomato sauce and added my own mushrooms. I also added about 1/2 cup spaghetti sauce and extra cheese. Then sprinkled parmesan on top when done cooking. Such a versatile meal. Spice up any way you'd like. We served w/a salad and rolls. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Very good and easy! I had planned to use ricotta cheese, but found I didn’t have ricotta or cottage cheese. Since I did have a tub of soft cream cheese I used that - very good & rich. I added a 8 oz box of sliced mushrooms. I had a 14+ oz can of tomato sauce with mushrooms, but added the whole can instead of saving half, so in the final step I added a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes after draining off some of the liquid. My husband took a bite and said that it was Very Good – even before I had a chance to ask if he liked it! ! Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I must say I was unsure of this recipe when I read it but Hey Mikey I really like it. I probably used a bit more cinnamon than was called for & it gives it a very interesting flavor. This is comfort food at its best. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I really botched up the directions; adding all the tomato sauce at once and stirring in the cottage cheese instead of putting on top. Guess what? It was still edible! Just some hardened noodles on top. I added cilantro and red pepper to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama T

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA
Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This casserole was quite easy to make and reminds me of an easier version of lasagna. Next time I will leave out the cinnamon, as it seemed to distract from the flavor instead of adding to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States