Comforting Cube Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was very good and my steaks were nice and tender. My deviations from the recipe: I browned them in my cast iron skillet then deglazed the pan with a bit of wine, added the rest of ingredients and popped in the oven for an hour and a half. For soda I used club soda and my soup was one cr. mushroom and one cr. celery. I served over rice and everyone liked it. It was a bit salty so I may substitute a real onion for onion soup mix and use low sodium soups. Oh, I added in a can of mushrooms too because, why not? My gravy was very thick and plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These were the best cube steaks I ever had!! I didn't have Cajun seasoning on hand so I found a recipe for it on here (all recipes of course) and made it. They were so tender and very flavorful! I baked for 1 hour like it said uncovered but my husband was gonna be another hour before he was home from work so I covered it with aluminum foil and it cooked another hour. There was lots of gravy or juice in pan so it was fine cooking that extra hour. We had it with boiled potato's and it was good with the gravy on them as well. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Used one can of soup and no soda....still turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Didn't have cajun seasoning or sprite so I used lemon pepper and ginger ale. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was good. Did not add the Cajun seasoning - but did put seasoned salt on them. Added onion instead of Lipton soup mix. Made in slow cooker and was tender and had a nice gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. the meat was moist, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
What a novel way to cook cubed steaks to make them tender and juicy! Did these up last night anf followed the recipe to a T except I used Ginger Ale instead of Lemon Lime soda (sounded too sweet for me). Meat came out fully cooked and fork tender - no knife needed to cut it. Great flavor! Gravy it makes is also delicious. Served them with mashed potatoes and Mexican corn. Will definitely make these again. Thanks for the recipe and great cooking method!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Hubby liked it. Used tenderized round steak rather than cube steak and left it in the oven 2 hours. We did not notice a sweet taste, using Diet Seven Up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Absolutely loved it. It was very simple to make and it cane out perfect. I made one change however. Instead of soda I used a can of beer (miller light to be exact) and let me tell you...MY FAMILY LOVED IT. It gave it a high end feel and taste that we all enjoyed. My second change was I added 1/3 cup of flour to thicken the gravy. I highly recommend trying the beer instead of soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
We absolutely loved this recipe. I put it in the crockpot on low before going to work & it was perfect when I arrived home. We served it with mashed potatoes and green beans. The gravy was better than I expected and we will make this recipe again and again. It will make a perfect freezer meal to prepare ahead of time. Thank you!! ****I just wanted to add that we tried this recipe with chicken breast and a pouch of dried vegetable dip mix, and it was just as wonderful. I've shared this recipe with many people and it never fails. We've made it 5 times since discovering it.****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States