Comforting Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made this tonight, it was delicious! Since I had no fresh green peppers, I used a can of diced green chiles (we like it hot). And also had to use broccoli cheddar condensed soup instead of cream of mushroom. Thank you to previous reviewers; pre-cooked the (brown) rice and made sure to bake the dish at 350. Wonderful comfort food, thank you Edna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used leftover chicken, chicken broth instead of water (a whole can, rather than a cup's worth), and threw in some raw broccoli. baked it an hour, added some cheddar, back in for another 5 minutes. It was okay, I thought it was salty. I wouldn't make it again, but hubby really liked it, so maybe I'll alter it on the next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was a great meal. I recommend seasoning the chicken before cooking. Was out of cream of mushroom so I made cream of chicken. I also threw in some frozen mixed veggies and some shredded cheese before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Delicious! I sauteed a clove of garlic along with the onions and peppers; used cream of chicken instead of mushroom soup; added mushrooms to the mixture and a tbsp of sambal oelek along with the other spices for a little bit of warmth. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Eastcott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used cream of potato soup because no one but me likes mushrooms and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Boring. Husband really liked it though. Don't think I'll make it again because there are other things we like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
My husband raved over this dish. It was a little different from my usual cream of mushroom soup, chicken and rice casserole with the green pepper and chili powder giving this a little heat and lots of flavor. It wasn't spicy at all. This made 4 servings. This is a keeper, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I love how simple this recipe is to make! The only change I made is to substitute the cream of mushroom soup for cream of broccoli instead; I though it added an interesting flavor to the dish. I also once accidentally made it without adding the cup of water and realized that I liked the way it came out just as much, if not more. With the water the rice is definitely fluffier but I found it almost overwhelmingly fluffy, as I like a slightly crunchy texture, so I think I'll only use half a cup of water instead of the full cup. Though any way you decide to make it, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Perfect amount for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was a very tasty comfort food. Like others I made some adjustments and substituted red peppers for the green peppers, added a can of mushrooms and some minced garlic. I didn't have time to wait an hour, so I cooked the rice separate and just combined in the pan with the other ingredients. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States