Comforting Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made this tonight, it was delicious! Since I had no fresh green peppers, I used a can of diced green chiles (we like it hot). And also had to use broccoli cheddar condensed soup instead of cream of mushroom. Thank you to previous reviewers; pre-cooked the (brown) rice and made sure to bake the dish at 350. Wonderful comfort food, thank you Edna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used leftover chicken, chicken broth instead of water (a whole can, rather than a cup's worth), and threw in some raw broccoli. baked it an hour, added some cheddar, back in for another 5 minutes. It was okay, I thought it was salty. I wouldn't make it again, but hubby really liked it, so maybe I'll alter it on the next try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was a great meal. I recommend seasoning the chicken before cooking. Was out of cream of mushroom so I made cream of chicken. I also threw in some frozen mixed veggies and some shredded cheese before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Delicious! I sauteed a clove of garlic along with the onions and peppers; used cream of chicken instead of mushroom soup; added mushrooms to the mixture and a tbsp of sambal oelek along with the other spices for a little bit of warmth. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Eastcott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I used cream of potato soup because no one but me likes mushrooms and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Boring. Husband really liked it though. Don't think I'll make it again because there are other things we like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
My husband raved over this dish. It was a little different from my usual cream of mushroom soup, chicken and rice casserole with the green pepper and chili powder giving this a little heat and lots of flavor. It wasn't spicy at all. This made 4 servings. This is a keeper, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I love how simple this recipe is to make! The only change I made is to substitute the cream of mushroom soup for cream of broccoli instead; I though it added an interesting flavor to the dish. I also once accidentally made it without adding the cup of water and realized that I liked the way it came out just as much, if not more. With the water the rice is definitely fluffier but I found it almost overwhelmingly fluffy, as I like a slightly crunchy texture, so I think I'll only use half a cup of water instead of the full cup. Though any way you decide to make it, this recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Perfect amount for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Lester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was a very tasty comfort food. Like others I made some adjustments and substituted red peppers for the green peppers, added a can of mushrooms and some minced garlic. I didn't have time to wait an hour, so I cooked the rice separate and just combined in the pan with the other ingredients. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States