Comfort Soup a la Montreal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Ooops, I read to late your comment about NOT removing the casings, but I must say the results were still fabulous. I think you can go either way with either large junks of juicy sausage in a big bite or small pieces in each and every bit. I made a rather large batch of this stuff because I had a huge bag of kale that I did not want to go bad. So now I have a number of servings in the freezer. I know the potatoes may not be the best after defrosting, but they are in small cubes and I'll get over it; the rest of the flavours will make up for that. I haven't tried it with the hot sauce yet, but I will. I LOVE hot sauce ... I grow my on Ghost Chiles. The only extra thing I added was a little bit of Morton's Season All, maybe a teaspoon are so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made a 'paleo' version of this recipe by substituting semi-smashed cauliflower florets for the potatoes. I didn't have Frank's Red hot on hand so just added Cayenne to taste. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Simple deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
So delicious. Doesn't look the best - my son and his friend took small bowls to start - then they went back for seconds and thirds! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Absolutely awesome soup. This is a family hit. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
We found this recipe easy to make but we did not enjoy it. It was our first time trying Kale and we did not like the texture. We'll keep looking for a way to eat Kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Absolutely delicious. I added leeks and used slightly less broth (as I like my soup chunky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very good! We got a large bunch of kale from a local farmer and didn't really know what to do with it! I used green onion b/c it is what we had on hand, and like another reviewer, I used morningstar sausage crumbles. I did adjust the amounts a bit to avoid a trip to the store : ) 2 large potatoes, a whole bag of sausage crumbles, and vegetable broth (6 cups). I sauteed the about 5 green onions (chopped) in about 2 tbsp. of butter! Definitely would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole B.
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I liked this soup quite a bit. Just spicy enough, but not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Oh, my heavens! This is delicious! I adapted mine to make it vegetarian with Morningstar sausages and vegetable broth. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States