Comfort Soup a la Montreal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I am the recipe submitter and would like to say that the sausage called for should NOT have the casings removed, that is not how I submitted it. Also I'd like to add that the amount of kale may seem like lots, however like spinach, it shrinks down quite a bit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Love this recipe. Fast, tasty and easy to alter to suit everyones taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Excellent soup... I used the ingredients as noted in the recipe but changed the process in cooking so that it was all within the same pot. Still worked out great! Nice flavors, great for a rainy night in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhyannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I added some heavy cream at the end of preparing this soup and found the dish absolutely superb - even after having froze the main body of the soup - still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Absolutely awesome! I also added leek, shallots and mushrooms. For the chicken stock, I used chicken bullion, but didn't use all that would be required for 3 quarts in order to reduce sodium (it would have been 12 cups of chicken bullion -- I used 8 plus 4 cups of plain water). I would suggest removing the casing from the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Love soup anytime and followed directions (didn't take the casing off). I looked at other recipes and I'm glad I found this one. It is now my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe, Nathalie! Since I didn't have and hot Italian sausage, I used some fully cooked Andouille sausage- tastes great. I had been looking for a good recipe so I could use some beautiful chard I found at Whole Foods. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Oh, my heavens! This is delicious! I adapted mine to make it vegetarian with Morningstar sausages and vegetable broth. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole B.
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I liked this soup quite a bit. Just spicy enough, but not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very good! We got a large bunch of kale from a local farmer and didn't really know what to do with it! I used green onion b/c it is what we had on hand, and like another reviewer, I used morningstar sausage crumbles. I did adjust the amounts a bit to avoid a trip to the store : ) 2 large potatoes, a whole bag of sausage crumbles, and vegetable broth (6 cups). I sauteed the about 5 green onions (chopped) in about 2 tbsp. of butter! Definitely would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States