Colorful Spinach and Prosciutto Side Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Wonderful recipe and so easy to make a beautiful side dish. Admittedly it's a little heavy due to the olive oil, so either cut some of it out or make sure you aren't pairing it with a lot of other heavy foods, I suppose. I paired it with some garlic crusted chicken for a fantastic meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was a very nice side dish. Very colorful and tasty. I followed the recipe exactly. I think with a little heat, cayenne, or pepper flakes it could make this a 5 star dish. Thanks for posting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This was some good stuff - nice recipe KeriLee! So nice to see a vegetable side dish with some real creativity and imagination. I preferred to use fresh spinach and garlic, some pepper and, because the artichokes I used were quite small, I left them whole.I did not cook this for 15 minutes though - just a minute or two to wilt the spinach is all it takes. Great flavor and great eye appeal too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
As suggested by the author, I added cheese to the top - fresh grated Parmesan & as another suggested, I added feta (mine was reduced fat) in the dish. Since I happened to have a 14 oz can of artichoke hearts & no jar of marinated one, I drained those & used extra olive oil & some red wine vinegar to the skillet. Then I followed directions. After removing vegetables from the heat, I stirred in some crumbled feta & transferred all to a baking dish. Topped w/cheese & broiled on Low a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is such a great side dish and so easy to make! It works well to take along to pot lucks or dinner at a friend's house as well and so far I haven't met anyone who doesn't like it. My husband isn't usually fond of spinach and even he loves this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
As others said, this truely tastes as good as it looks. I made this along with the Stuffed Valentino Chicken on this site, and my wife, my 11 mo. old, and myself all loved it. Great blend of flavors and it looks great too. It would probably serve well as a filling for chicken breast as well if some cheese was added. Definitely part of our new rotation, and surprisingly inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
It's not often that I find a dish that tastes as good as it looks or the other way around. This one does. I made just a few minor changes, though. To cut down on the fat, I left out the olive oil. I used bacon instead of prosciutto (my store didn't have it), and used a little of the bacon grease left from cooking the bacon to grease the pan before adding the veggies. Delicious and filling enough for a light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I love this as a side dish. Matter of fact, it could almost be a meal...it's so hearty. My husband loves it. It's easy to make and delicious so 5 stars are definitely deserved. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Incredible! I made this for 10 of my family members and it was the first thing to go. The taste is great! I may have added a few more artichokes (just because I love them), other than that, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This turned out to be a heavier side than I was expecting. The prosciutto plus oil, plus marinated artichoke hearts and roasted red peppers made for a very heavy fat/oil taste. Otherwise, the flavor was very good. If I make this again I'll cut back on oil. Another possibility would be to use frozen artichoke hearts (not marinated in oil) and roast your own red peppers. It does make for a very colorful salad, it looked very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States