Colorful Four Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I hate bean salad....until I made this one! This is a keeper and so easy to throw together. The onions, celery, bell pepper, and pimento really add a nice touch. Plus, I bought pimentos that were already chopped so I just had to drain them. I don't like onions so I added half and that was enough for my liking. I was also intimidated by the amount of sugar to add so I added 1/2 cup and then a little more from there. Altogether I didn't have more than 3/4 cup of sugar and that was enough for me. Everything else was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
AWESOME salad! Having to watch my fats, sodium, and spices so this was a wonderful find. Made it last night and just had some for breakfast! Paired it with a little bow-tie pasta with garlic and enjoyed a quick meal for the first time in weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I kinda made it my own.... 1 can of chic peas, 1 can of green beans, 1 can of kidney, 1 can of black, pimentos, can of diced chillis, 1 can of diced tomatoes, jar of artichokes, onion, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of lemon juice, 1/4 of olive oil, some italian seasoning...not bad, a good way to clean out your cupboards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I had to make a few adjustments because I live in Argentina now and the food variety is not as great. I basically just picked 4 different types of beans, whatever I could get. I had to skipe the pimiento peppers too. I used red wine vinegar and less sugar and it still turned out really tasty! I don't eat much meat so this is a great way to get protein and a perfect summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Well ! My husband just couldn't eat it. My 1.5 year old and I could eat a little and now I have the entire amount in the refrigerator. I don't know what to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I'm glad I tried this salad and it turned out excellent. However, for $4.88 I can buy a big jar of 4 bean salad at Sam's Club - half the cost of the ingredients to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonkhan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Used black eyed peas, kidney and green beans as I did't have any of the others. Was delicious. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I never thought I'd like bean salad! This was great - although I didn't use quite as much sugar (about 1/2 cup) and I used a little more vegetable oil (again, about 1/2 cup). I wonder what it would be like with balsamic or red wine vinegar? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I cut this recipe in half, added carrots, corn, and cucumbers. I also added celery seed to my dressing/ brine, and heated it on the stove to dissolve the sugar so it wasn't granular. My sister in law loved and so did I, and normally I HATE bean salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States