Colorful Four Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I hate bean salad....until I made this one! This is a keeper and so easy to throw together. The onions, celery, bell pepper, and pimento really add a nice touch. Plus, I bought pimentos that were already chopped so I just had to drain them. I don't like onions so I added half and that was enough for my liking. I was also intimidated by the amount of sugar to add so I added 1/2 cup and then a little more from there. Altogether I didn't have more than 3/4 cup of sugar and that was enough for me. Everything else was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
AWESOME salad! Having to watch my fats, sodium, and spices so this was a wonderful find. Made it last night and just had some for breakfast! Paired it with a little bow-tie pasta with garlic and enjoyed a quick meal for the first time in weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I kinda made it my own.... 1 can of chic peas, 1 can of green beans, 1 can of kidney, 1 can of black, pimentos, can of diced chillis, 1 can of diced tomatoes, jar of artichokes, onion, 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup of lemon juice, 1/4 of olive oil, some italian seasoning...not bad, a good way to clean out your cupboards
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I had to make a few adjustments because I live in Argentina now and the food variety is not as great. I basically just picked 4 different types of beans, whatever I could get. I had to skipe the pimiento peppers too. I used red wine vinegar and less sugar and it still turned out really tasty! I don't eat much meat so this is a great way to get protein and a perfect summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rease

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Well ! My husband just couldn't eat it. My 1.5 year old and I could eat a little and now I have the entire amount in the refrigerator. I don't know what to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I'm glad I tried this salad and it turned out excellent. However, for $4.88 I can buy a big jar of 4 bean salad at Sam's Club - half the cost of the ingredients to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonkhan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Used black eyed peas, kidney and green beans as I did't have any of the others. Was delicious. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I never thought I'd like bean salad! This was great - although I didn't use quite as much sugar (about 1/2 cup) and I used a little more vegetable oil (again, about 1/2 cup). I wonder what it would be like with balsamic or red wine vinegar? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I cut this recipe in half, added carrots, corn, and cucumbers. I also added celery seed to my dressing/ brine, and heated it on the stove to dissolve the sugar so it wasn't granular. My sister in law loved and so did I, and normally I HATE bean salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States