Colorful Coleslaw with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Lately I have begun to use 1/4 cup of olive oil instead of a 1/2 cup, Key Lime Juice instead of regular lime juice and twice the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Great salad. Very tasty and pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
Overall, everyone gave this a three. I brought it to a cookout and we all agreed it needed a little something added to give it a little zip. Maybe some vinegar of some sort. But I'll try it again with some changes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Maybe it's because I've recently had several other cole slaw recipes that were superb, so in comparison--this one wasn't very good--but I wasn't particularly impressed. I could barely detect the hotsauce and the overall flavor was just weak. In fairness, I must say that I tried the coleslaw immediatly. Tomorrow, with time to mesh, the flavors will likely be stronger. I will modify my comments if time significantly improves the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is now my favorite slaw recipe! I read the submitters update and I only used 1/4 cup of oil. I doubled the cilantro and hot sauce (personal preference) and left everything else the same. I have been using a similar one from this site for a couple of years but now that I have discovered this one with the addition of cumin, hot pepper sauce, and a LOT more cilantro, I won't be going back to it. Thank you Doug for sharing your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Good side dish. My family loved it even the kids. thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This is great. Colorfull, full of flavor, great taste, a MAN's coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Its great for anyone who likes veggies. I love slaw but my husband hates mayo coleslaw. I finally found a coleslaw that he will eat! I love the dressing best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodfanaticdebi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was o.k. but I think I'd stick with regular old coleslaw. I did add some white vinegar as someone suggested but it still seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This is one of my 3 favorite coleslaws on this site. The other 2 are Nate King Cole Slaw and Southern Coleslaw. This is a colorful and tasty coleslaw. You can control the "kick" with the hot sauce and change it down or down depending on your taste (and your guests). When serving guests I split the coleslaw into 2 bowls and give one bowl a kick and leave the other bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States