Colorful Bulgur Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
OK....this to me was really good! Some of the other reviews werent so hot on this dish, but I decided to try anyway. Glad I did. My only change was to used fresh lemon juice instead of the lime because I didnt have limes. I thought this was light and refreshing. Yes, very healthy, but thats what I was looking for. This was my first attempt at using Bulgur and it was a success. This is going to be a great salad come summer when you want to eat light. I also sprinkled some cayenne pepper on mine cause I like the heat. Will me making often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Quick, easy and tasty. Tough to beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Finally, a recipe for bulgur that is not tabouli! I think it's good just like it is. The dressing is tasty and not overpowering. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesonata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
Big hit at our family gathering!! A nice change from the regular fare & a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Very simple and excellent flavour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Very good & different recipe.I am a vegetarian, so instead of chicken broth, I just added curry powder to the water & boiled the bulgur. In india, we pressure cook cracked wheat with veggies like cauliflower, peas, carrots & potatoes after frying the bulgur in a little clarified butter. That tastes good but this idea of using uncooked vegetables is amazing. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Was looking for a burgul salad and found this recipe. Love it, so simple but delicious and filling. I added a little olive oil and fresh ground pepper instead of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The combination of cracked bulgar and vegetables was wonderful. When I made the dressing it didn't smell very good, so instead I made a vinaigrette of cider vinegar, chili powder, and olive oil. The cider vinegar added a bright note to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I pour boiling veggie/chicken broth over the bulgar (2 to 1). Strain it. Add indicated veggies plus a ton of fine chopped parsley (at least a cup), 2TBS lemon instead of lime juice and generous splash of cider vinegar, skip the chili and garlic power and top it off with half olive oil and half blended soy/sesame oil. Lots of fine pepper, some salt and that is how I've made it for 30+ years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gnoss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Very good salad. I used lemon juice instead of lime and added a bit of EVOO. Only added chili powder to taste. Make sure the dressing has a bit of a bite before you add the bulgur as the bulgur sucks it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States