Colorful Bulgur Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
Big hit at our family gathering!! A nice change from the regular fare & a definate keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
OK....this to me was really good! Some of the other reviews werent so hot on this dish, but I decided to try anyway. Glad I did. My only change was to used fresh lemon juice instead of the lime because I didnt have limes. I thought this was light and refreshing. Yes, very healthy, but thats what I was looking for. This was my first attempt at using Bulgur and it was a success. This is going to be a great salad come summer when you want to eat light. I also sprinkled some cayenne pepper on mine cause I like the heat. Will me making often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Very simple and excellent flavour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
Very good & different recipe.I am a vegetarian, so instead of chicken broth, I just added curry powder to the water & boiled the bulgur. In india, we pressure cook cracked wheat with veggies like cauliflower, peas, carrots & potatoes after frying the bulgur in a little clarified butter. That tastes good but this idea of using uncooked vegetables is amazing. Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Quick, easy and tasty. Tough to beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I pour boiling veggie/chicken broth over the bulgar (2 to 1). Strain it. Add indicated veggies plus a ton of fine chopped parsley (at least a cup), 2TBS lemon instead of lime juice and generous splash of cider vinegar, skip the chili and garlic power and top it off with half olive oil and half blended soy/sesame oil. Lots of fine pepper, some salt and that is how I've made it for 30+ years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was very good and very easy. I used part of an English Cucumber, pre shredded carrots and used minced garlic rather than powder. I probably used more veggies than the recipe called for, but for so few calories you really get a lot of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Very good salad. I used lemon juice instead of lime and added a bit of EVOO. Only added chili powder to taste. Make sure the dressing has a bit of a bite before you add the bulgur as the bulgur sucks it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The combination of cracked bulgar and vegetables was wonderful. When I made the dressing it didn't smell very good, so instead I made a vinaigrette of cider vinegar, chili powder, and olive oil. The cider vinegar added a bright note to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Found the recipe easy and useful as a base. A bit bland for us so I tossed in some oil and vinegar. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States