Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
THIS SUX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My daughter asked the toothfairy to leave some fairy dust. This was perfect! I wrote back that it's only magic when the fairies use it so to leave it in the baggie to look at. Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Some thing that after you read it you say,,, of coarse! But you need the tap on the side of your temple, like this recipe, to get you to consider it. Thank you for the idea, Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This just totally save me a trip to the store - and saved the day from not having the blue - in red which and blue swirl cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Truly a money saver and great idea! Just in time, as I needed several colors of sugar for a project and wasn't sure I could even find what I needed, let along afford them all. I made my own, and had a blast! I did start with only 1/4 cup of sugar (I didn't need a great quantity of any color), and used McCormick's food color since I had their Fall Color, Assorted and Neon color sets. I used one drop for a light shade, and two or three for a darker shade. Mixed them each in a sandwich bag, kneading gently until the color was well-distributed, then spread them on foil to dry for about an hour. Perfect! I will be using this again and again, and passing it along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Just made this - you don't need to use a whole cup of sugar; I used about a half cup. But I added a 1/4 tsp of triple sec (the purpose of the colored sugar was to decorate orange cream cupcakes). It is SO good! I wouldn't add anything with color, since it would likely change the color you're going for, but a clear liquor is a great add for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Just tried this...I used about 1/3 c of sugar in a sandwich bag. In a small bowl I mixed a small squeeze of gel color with a little water and dumped into the bag. After it was well mixed, I spread it on a piece of foil and popped it into the toaster oven for a bit. Be careful...I ruined my red sugar twice because I didn't watch it and it started to crystallize. After it cooled, I poured it back into the bag and rolled it a bit with a rolling pin to help break up the harder bits. Haven't used it on anything yet, but it's pretty bright and seems a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EsmeGrumble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apollo, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Instead of shaking the sugar and food coloring I used a plastic spoon and mixed it in making sure to break up the chunks of sugar and food coloring at first then just mixing it for a few minutes. I had NO PROBLEMS with moisture when I mixed it instead of shaking it. If you want to store it use an air tight container with a little bit of paper towel on top to absorb any moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Easy, awesome, good to know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States