Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
This is quick and easy-and kids would love to help! This recipe should be added to the mashmallow chicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
We took empty spice bottles and made a rainbow of colors, and the kids loved it! What a great idea and money saver..... was doubtful at first, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is such an excellent way to make colored sugar.I just added a little more color as needed. I needed colored sugar to sprinkle on my heart shaped cookies for Valentine's and didn't want to run out to the store to buy colored sugar. It's inexpensive and works really well. Whatever sugar I had left over I would just use in my coffee or tea or in anything that the color wouldn't matter. I even used the left over surgar when making my home made pasta suace. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This deserves 5 stars for being so fast and cheap. A small packet of coloured sugar costs about $6. here and you get about 1/4 cup worth. Now I can make my own and any amount I wish, quick and easy. It does need to be put to dry out a little after first colouring it though, But it is worth it. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This was so great! I just made jack-o-lantern cookies and sanded them with orange and black sugar that I made myself. They turned out beautifully, and it saved me A LOT of money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Perfect recipe for me. Hubby is a coffee drinker, and I'm a baker so I always have dye and sugar around. Who wants to spend the money on store bought colored sugar when you can do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
So simple...My kids really enjoyed making this. I bought cheap salt & Pepper shakers from the dollar store and put the sugar in them to make it easier for decorating holiday cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEHIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hahnville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
am rating this a 5 star for simplicity and economics. Much cheaper than having to go out and buy every color sugar one needs for just one special occasion. I used some homemade vanilla sugar, and found that the 'shake' method didn't work too well to evenly distribute the coloring. It clumped but that may be due to the fact that it had a little moisture in it from the vanilla bean. Next time I'll just use the food processor. great recipe to make small quantities and use the coffee grinder method also. I did need to use more than 2 drops of coloring to get desired affect. Thanks for this simple, economical recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I've found out that after initially shaking the sugar with the coloring in a bowl, using a hand held potato masher works really well to blend the colors in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I loved this idea! I am hosting a baby shower & needed pastel colored sugar for the sugar cookies. This recipe worked out great and was fun! I was able to make yellow, purple & green pastels. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States