Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I found adding a few drops of water to paste color rather than liquid food coloring resulted in brighter colors and was easier to spread evenly thoughout the sugar. I put the sugar in a ziploc bag and add a few drops of the diluted coloring. I shake and then use a rolling pin to spread the color throughout the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Awesome idea!! I had to use 5 drops of food coloring for about 1/3 cup of sugar. I spread the sugar on aluminum foil overnight to dry, that way you can just fold the foil in half and pour it right into a jar or bag. Thanks, I'll never buy silly colored sugar again! This sugar is quite pretty and looks like glitter on the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Great Idea and very easy! I also had a small problem with moisture, but I just spread it on a plate to dry for an hour or so and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
So simple...My kids really enjoyed making this. I bought cheap salt & Pepper shakers from the dollar store and put the sugar in them to make it easier for decorating holiday cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEHIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hahnville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Great idea - I definitely needed this for cut out cookies. You can make as little or as much as you need and mix as many colors as you can come up with. I highly recommend going to the dollar store and getting small cheap containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is such an excellent way to make colored sugar.I just added a little more color as needed. I needed colored sugar to sprinkle on my heart shaped cookies for Valentine's and didn't want to run out to the store to buy colored sugar. It's inexpensive and works really well. Whatever sugar I had left over I would just use in my coffee or tea or in anything that the color wouldn't matter. I even used the left over surgar when making my home made pasta suace. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This deserves 5 stars for being so fast and cheap. A small packet of coloured sugar costs about $6. here and you get about 1/4 cup worth. Now I can make my own and any amount I wish, quick and easy. It does need to be put to dry out a little after first colouring it though, But it is worth it. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
We took empty spice bottles and made a rainbow of colors, and the kids loved it! What a great idea and money saver..... was doubtful at first, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
This is quick and easy-and kids would love to help! This recipe should be added to the mashmallow chicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This was so great! I just made jack-o-lantern cookies and sanded them with orange and black sugar that I made myself. They turned out beautifully, and it saved me A LOT of money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States