Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was great! I tried using the new gel style food colors... doesnt work at all. It just globs up. But the regular food coloring works great. 3 drops to half a cup of sugar was plenty. Much better colors and more vibrant than store bought. Just left dry on wax paper for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmstandish
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Awesome! For even better results, use turbinado sugar (ie Sugar in the Raw) which can probably be found at your grocery store. It is a courser sugar just like the store bought colored sugar sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I used the previous reviewers advice to add the gel to water to get more vibrant colors. It worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cakenbake
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Very easy to make. And it's a pretty decoration.. Just a little tip I picked up, if you get food coloring on your hands, you can wash your hands with an SOS pad. Only down side to this recipe is that when I sprinkled it on sugar cookie icing it melted into the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakenbake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I make this sugar all the time...it is so much cheaper than buying it at the store! I use more coloring to get deeper shades. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is awesome! The stuff in the stores is so expensive. I used more drops of color than called for but this stuff is great and I will use it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Awesome! This worked perfectly. I had spent so much money getting all the ingredients for a cupcake themed baby shower...and forgot the colored sugar...and I didn't want to go back out for that, or spend 5 bucks on it. I used some barely diluted color paste. Put 1/2 cup sugar in a Ziploc bag...added a couple color drops, Viola! Worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Duh... *coloring + sugar = colored sugar* I feel like a dope for buying the stuff! Thank you for adding this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belle Plaine, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blairstown, Iowa, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was way to easy and fun, especially when you have kids to get involved. I used zilpoc baggies and got my kids to shake them up, and they had fun doing so. But trick is, when using liquid food coloring the darker you want your sugar to be, the more drops you put in with the sugar. Still quick, easy, simple, and cost effectively cheap...no more buying the colored sprinkles when I can do it myself...even using decorator's sugar crystals work well. 5 stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
My grandma used to do this when I was a kid. It's an easy and economical way to make your own colored sugar. I use the larger grain sugar. To make pink, just add a small drop of red food coloring and get to shaking! It won't be a bright pink, but more a pastel color! Great for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States