Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Easy and saves alot of time & money! I just put about 1/3 cup of sugar in a fold top sanwich bag(very cheap and thin so easy to mix)along w/ about 5 drops of blue liquid color and smooshed it around a bit w/ my hands. I then spread it out on a plate & used it on sugar cookies about 10 minutes later. Great!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
When I was a kid my Grandma always made her own colored sugars. She would spread them out on wax paper and let them dry overnight. It's one of my favorite memories of her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Perfect and easy! Even works with Sugar in the Raw - put it in a sandwich bag shook and stored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
So easy and works great!!!! No need to buy colored sugars anymore!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
the color is not quite as even as store-bought, but i think that makes it look cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I am SO glad I have finally found this recipe!! It's getting expensive buying decorator sugars!! However, the coloring was way to light for a full cup of white sugar. So I kept adding drops of color until it was right!! THANK YOU for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ruby_cube
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was brilliant, and fun as well! I used a milkshake shaker to mix the ingredients - which is so handy as it only pours out of a little hole, rather than a jar. Made aqua and purple, and plan to sprinkle over doughnuts and icecream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
best idea ever !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Fantastic!! Anyone know how to get the moisture out of it though?? I put a lot of food coloring in and it made a nice dark pink color. Make sure you start shaking asap or you'll get lil blobs of dark pieces (guess you could sift them out anyway). I don't think i'll ever buy colored sugar ever again - thanks so much for this amazing idea!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Never again will I buy colored sugars! This was so easy and you can make any color you desire. I used the ziplock baggie method and mixed with my fingertips. It could not have turned out more perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States