Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by West Coast Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
There aren't enough stars to give this one! I'm throwing my daughter a rainbow birthday party in a couple weeks and wanted something festive to decorate with. I'm going to use it as a centerpiece in a glass jar and decorate some treats with it. We made it together just using ziploc baggies. It should be noted that the little teardrop food color that you get in the grocery store never really gives you a great red - just brighter shades of magenta. I got some Wilsons icing dye at WalMart for really cheap though, and got a perfect red. I can't wait to use it, and best of all, we had a blast making it. She loved seeing the white sugar change colors. The only expense we encountered was the shirt I ruined with red dye, but I did have a two year old in on the job, so others should be fine :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by West Coast Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
quick and easy! Great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
So easy and so inexpensive. Made a peach colored sugar to go with my favorite sweet tea recipe on this site....(with a little peach vodka and fresh peaches) Will definately use this alot, it's brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Simple and easy! This worked fabulously. Took about 9 drops of liquid color for really vibrant colored sugar. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I first tried this with regular granulated sugar and storebrand liquid food coloring drops. Disappointing, dull & tired colors. Tried again with granulated sugar and gel food color, and sha-ZAM! Now that's the bold color I was looking for. I'd take the tip of a butterknife to dip into the gel color, then wipe the knife off on the inside of a Ziploc bag. Add sugar, then mash it around. Then I tried the gel color with sparkling sugar, and that was just beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This worked great and was so simple to do. I mixed up a batch in a small jar and used it right away. No need to even let it 'dry'. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I LOVE this! Will never spend money on colored sugar again. :) I used this method for making pink sugar for valentine's cookies. Quick and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I tried this with jello and sugar added drops of water and mixed and its great I did it with raspberry jello and it tastes like raspberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used zip-top bags, and much more than 2 drops food coloring. Did not bother to measure, and it turned out perfect. I let it dry on wax paper, but I don't know if it was strictly necessary to do so. The colors are perfect - easiest recipe I have every made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is a wonderful idea and is extremely easy and economical. We tried it with watered down gel color first and it made the sugar smell very bad. The only suggestion I would give is to use the liquid color as opposed to the gel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States