Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
What's also great is one can make the color they want for the theme they are working with. Use black color paste (not sure if that's what it is called) for example if one needed black sugar. A lovely lilac instead of just purple, or a deep blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made 4 different basic colors for Christmas cookies. It's easy to do, but it has the consitancy of Moon Sand. It never completely dries out. Since it's also regular sugar the crystals are very fine, so you have to put more on for it show on frosted cookies. I used some old bottles of Spices I had in my pantry to shake it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This does not work with gel food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I used this as a last resort as I had run out of my store-bought sugar sprinkles. I'll never have to buy sprinkles again. I put a cup of sugar in a food processor and added a few drops of food dye; couldn't have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandiebb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
So simple and easy. Love this, used often and so economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
such a money saver i used this to color layers of sugar in a cookie in a jar recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
So easy. But be patient it takes a little work. what i did was stick the sugar in a zip bag and put the color (paste not liquid) in the bag and then smushed it around. I didn't really measure the sugar I just put the amount i wanted in a the bag and then just kept working with the food coloring. I then took my rolling pin and rolled it around the bag and that took care of clumps. In between rolling the bag I would shake the bag to distribute any color that was clumped. Thank you so much...i made a whole bunch of colored sugar in a few mintues and was ready to make my cookies without having to go to the store for colored sugar!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm NEVER buying colored sugar again. This is so easy and you can make however much you need although extras do store very well in an airtight container. I've made it using both the liquid food coloring and the paste type food coloring however you get a much better, brilliant color with the paste but in a pinch the liquid will work you just may want to make it ahead of time because depending on how much of the liquid coloring you use you may need to spread out the colored sugar on a plate or cookie sheet and leave out to dry if it's a little damp and clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is a great way to make fun colors without trying to find them in the store. I have a TIP for anyone interested. I used Quart Size Ziploc bags for the mixing so the kids could help and see the sugar change color. It was also easy for storage as I put all the bags in a plastic tub which we pull out for our fun baking projects. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
All I had was gel color that was not incorporating. I ended up using about 1/2 teaspoon of hot tap water and a few drops of the gel color. After dissolving the colors I added them to the sugar. I did get a bright orange rock of sugar on the bottom at the end, but it turned out well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States