Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
So simple and easy. Love this, used often and so economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
such a money saver i used this to color layers of sugar in a cookie in a jar recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
So easy. But be patient it takes a little work. what i did was stick the sugar in a zip bag and put the color (paste not liquid) in the bag and then smushed it around. I didn't really measure the sugar I just put the amount i wanted in a the bag and then just kept working with the food coloring. I then took my rolling pin and rolled it around the bag and that took care of clumps. In between rolling the bag I would shake the bag to distribute any color that was clumped. Thank you so much...i made a whole bunch of colored sugar in a few mintues and was ready to make my cookies without having to go to the store for colored sugar!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I'm NEVER buying colored sugar again. This is so easy and you can make however much you need although extras do store very well in an airtight container. I've made it using both the liquid food coloring and the paste type food coloring however you get a much better, brilliant color with the paste but in a pinch the liquid will work you just may want to make it ahead of time because depending on how much of the liquid coloring you use you may need to spread out the colored sugar on a plate or cookie sheet and leave out to dry if it's a little damp and clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is a great way to make fun colors without trying to find them in the store. I have a TIP for anyone interested. I used Quart Size Ziploc bags for the mixing so the kids could help and see the sugar change color. It was also easy for storage as I put all the bags in a plastic tub which we pull out for our fun baking projects. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
All I had was gel color that was not incorporating. I ended up using about 1/2 teaspoon of hot tap water and a few drops of the gel color. After dissolving the colors I added them to the sugar. I did get a bright orange rock of sugar on the bottom at the end, but it turned out well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
So simple. This makes sugar cookies look beautiful. I love it. I will never again pay for over priced color sugar. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Middletown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by West Coast Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
There aren't enough stars to give this one! I'm throwing my daughter a rainbow birthday party in a couple weeks and wanted something festive to decorate with. I'm going to use it as a centerpiece in a glass jar and decorate some treats with it. We made it together just using ziploc baggies. It should be noted that the little teardrop food color that you get in the grocery store never really gives you a great red - just brighter shades of magenta. I got some Wilsons icing dye at WalMart for really cheap though, and got a perfect red. I can't wait to use it, and best of all, we had a blast making it. She loved seeing the white sugar change colors. The only expense we encountered was the shirt I ruined with red dye, but I did have a two year old in on the job, so others should be fine :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by West Coast Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
quick and easy! Great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
So easy and so inexpensive. Made a peach colored sugar to go with my favorite sweet tea recipe on this site....(with a little peach vodka and fresh peaches) Will definately use this alot, it's brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States