Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This deserves 5 stars for being so fast and cheap. A small packet of coloured sugar costs about $6. here and you get about 1/4 cup worth. Now I can make my own and any amount I wish, quick and easy. It does need to be put to dry out a little after first colouring it though, But it is worth it. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I had to use quite a bit of red food coloring, but I finally got red sugar! I made it in my mini food processor. I'm not sure I could have shook it enough by hand to get a good red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
What a great idea!!! I actually used about 4 drops to half a cup of sugar, but it was really great since I sent hubby to find red and green for Christmas and he came back with the pastel mix....the red was actually more pink, i think I'll add more color and let it dry out before using, but the green was perfect. Also, I used plastic throw away bowls with see thru lids...it was really cool to watch it suddenly seem to transform to color!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momperron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I found adding a few drops of water to paste color rather than liquid food coloring resulted in brighter colors and was easier to spread evenly thoughout the sugar. I put the sugar in a ziploc bag and add a few drops of the diluted coloring. I shake and then use a rolling pin to spread the color throughout the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Awesome idea!! I had to use 5 drops of food coloring for about 1/3 cup of sugar. I spread the sugar on aluminum foil overnight to dry, that way you can just fold the foil in half and pour it right into a jar or bag. Thanks, I'll never buy silly colored sugar again! This sugar is quite pretty and looks like glitter on the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
What a fab idea! I'm just hoping it will dry out enough to sprinkle onto my cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Great Idea and very easy! I also had a small problem with moisture, but I just spread it on a plate to dry for an hour or so and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
worked like a charm! so much easier and cheaper than buying colored sugar in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliasmama06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I too had to add a couple more drops of coloring. I made a batch using granulated sugar & then a bath using raw (turbinado) sugar. I prefer the raw sugar even though the color gets a little muddied (due to the golden color of the sugar)... I just like the larger crystals (it's got better flavor too). Thansk for the recipe...I will, no longer, spend $4 on a 1/4 cup of colored sugar. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
am rating this a 5 star for simplicity and economics. Much cheaper than having to go out and buy every color sugar one needs for just one special occasion. I used some homemade vanilla sugar, and found that the 'shake' method didn't work too well to evenly distribute the coloring. It clumped but that may be due to the fact that it had a little moisture in it from the vanilla bean. Next time I'll just use the food processor. great recipe to make small quantities and use the coffee grinder method also. I did need to use more than 2 drops of coloring to get desired affect. Thanks for this simple, economical recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States