Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I loved this idea! I am hosting a baby shower & needed pastel colored sugar for the sugar cookies. This recipe worked out great and was fun! I was able to make yellow, purple & green pastels. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I've found out that after initially shaking the sugar with the coloring in a bowl, using a hand held potato masher works really well to blend the colors in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This deserves 5 stars for being so fast and cheap. A small packet of coloured sugar costs about $6. here and you get about 1/4 cup worth. Now I can make my own and any amount I wish, quick and easy. It does need to be put to dry out a little after first colouring it though, But it is worth it. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I had to use quite a bit of red food coloring, but I finally got red sugar! I made it in my mini food processor. I'm not sure I could have shook it enough by hand to get a good red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
What a great idea!!! I actually used about 4 drops to half a cup of sugar, but it was really great since I sent hubby to find red and green for Christmas and he came back with the pastel mix....the red was actually more pink, i think I'll add more color and let it dry out before using, but the green was perfect. Also, I used plastic throw away bowls with see thru lids...it was really cool to watch it suddenly seem to transform to color!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momperron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I found adding a few drops of water to paste color rather than liquid food coloring resulted in brighter colors and was easier to spread evenly thoughout the sugar. I put the sugar in a ziploc bag and add a few drops of the diluted coloring. I shake and then use a rolling pin to spread the color throughout the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Awesome idea!! I had to use 5 drops of food coloring for about 1/3 cup of sugar. I spread the sugar on aluminum foil overnight to dry, that way you can just fold the foil in half and pour it right into a jar or bag. Thanks, I'll never buy silly colored sugar again! This sugar is quite pretty and looks like glitter on the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
What a fab idea! I'm just hoping it will dry out enough to sprinkle onto my cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Great Idea and very easy! I also had a small problem with moisture, but I just spread it on a plate to dry for an hour or so and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
worked like a charm! so much easier and cheaper than buying colored sugar in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliasmama06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States