Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is awesome!!! I wanted to make sugar cookies for my 3 girls and let them decorate them. I knew I needed something besides icing to let them make pretty cookies and I didn't wanna spend a ton of money on different colored sugars and jimmies. So I decided to go and see if I could find a recipe to make different colored sugars for them so they would have a big variety of colors to use and it wouldn't cost an arm and leg. Well I was very pleased when I found this recipe. So I went to the store and bought the sugar and food coloring came home and made some. It was super easy and I can make any color I want. Even colors you can't find in the stores!! I highly recommend this recipe!! I will be keeping this recipe around for many years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My duaghter and I did this very quickly and easily. 1 ziplock 1 cup of sugar and 7 - 12 drops of liquid food coloring. mixed in in the bag and put in a bowl in a warm oven and mixed it up after it dried out. the we put it in a round glass like sand art and seal with melted chocolate. edible sand art.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
It takes a lot of red food coloring to get red colored sugar. It was getting too wet, so I had to stop at a dark pink. It still worked out in a pinch. I would use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Okay... this is definitely one of the best ideas EVER! I let the kids do the shaking and voila! Gorgeous coloured sugar! Thank you so much; awesome moneysaver and one the kids were able to do with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Can also be used as EDIBLE GLITTER for little ones craft projects
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Fun & easy! I mixed it up with my fingers and it looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is SUPER EAST. I put 1/4 cup sugar in a heavy ziploc, 5 drops of food coloring (that seemed to produce a good vibrant color - I was going for pink and blue), closed bag, rolled it around in the sugar with my fingers, and then shook bag until it was totally combined.....maybe 1 minute...and presto. It was dry and ready to use...GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
How cool!! My supper club is having Mardi Gras night this month. I want to make a King Cake but didn't know how difficult it was going to be to find purple, green, and gold sugar. So, I found this recipe and made my own! All 3 of the colors look awesome!! How easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I loved this idea! I am hosting a baby shower & needed pastel colored sugar for the sugar cookies. This recipe worked out great and was fun! I was able to make yellow, purple & green pastels. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States