Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is awesome!!! I wanted to make sugar cookies for my 3 girls and let them decorate them. I knew I needed something besides icing to let them make pretty cookies and I didn't wanna spend a ton of money on different colored sugars and jimmies. So I decided to go and see if I could find a recipe to make different colored sugars for them so they would have a big variety of colors to use and it wouldn't cost an arm and leg. Well I was very pleased when I found this recipe. So I went to the store and bought the sugar and food coloring came home and made some. It was super easy and I can make any color I want. Even colors you can't find in the stores!! I highly recommend this recipe!! I will be keeping this recipe around for many years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My duaghter and I did this very quickly and easily. 1 ziplock 1 cup of sugar and 7 - 12 drops of liquid food coloring. mixed in in the bag and put in a bowl in a warm oven and mixed it up after it dried out. the we put it in a round glass like sand art and seal with melted chocolate. edible sand art.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
It takes a lot of red food coloring to get red colored sugar. It was getting too wet, so I had to stop at a dark pink. It still worked out in a pinch. I would use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Okay... this is definitely one of the best ideas EVER! I let the kids do the shaking and voila! Gorgeous coloured sugar! Thank you so much; awesome moneysaver and one the kids were able to do with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Can also be used as EDIBLE GLITTER for little ones craft projects
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Fun & easy! I mixed it up with my fingers and it looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is SUPER EAST. I put 1/4 cup sugar in a heavy ziploc, 5 drops of food coloring (that seemed to produce a good vibrant color - I was going for pink and blue), closed bag, rolled it around in the sugar with my fingers, and then shook bag until it was totally combined.....maybe 1 minute...and presto. It was dry and ready to use...GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
How cool!! My supper club is having Mardi Gras night this month. I want to make a King Cake but didn't know how difficult it was going to be to find purple, green, and gold sugar. So, I found this recipe and made my own! All 3 of the colors look awesome!! How easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I loved this idea! I am hosting a baby shower & needed pastel colored sugar for the sugar cookies. This recipe worked out great and was fun! I was able to make yellow, purple & green pastels. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States