Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I was surprised at how well this turned out! I was skeptical at first because I had food coloring paste. I added some sugar in 3 baggies and made yellow, green, and purple for my Mardi Gras King Cake. The colored sugar looked wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I did this to make pink sugar for some valentines cookies and it worked really well! I just put it in a plastic bag and worked with it until it was a uniform color!! Thank you for the recipe, I had no idea how easy it was to color sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Wow! I can't believe I didn't review this recipe when I used it back around Christmastime! This sugar worked really well as a decoration for Christmas cookies as well as a coating for truffles. After coloring the sugar, I spread it out in a baking dish and put it in a 250 degree F oven, stirring every 5 minutes until it was no longer moist. Make sure you put plenty of color in, because the color does dull a bit as it dries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
What an ingenious idea! It's such a simple recipe/idea that I wonder why I never thought of it before?! I used 1/2C of sugar and about 7 drops of colouring, combined it well in a ziplioc bag and poured it out on a sheet of tinfoil to dry. I'll never buy coloured sugar again. You can make as much as you need without any waste! Hmm..I wonder if I put a squirt or two of my favorite extract in as well if it would work? Vanilla sugar? Yummy, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
simply the best idea EVER!! It is one of those... "why havn't I thought of this before" recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was soo great to make. I sang the Casey and the Sunshine Band song, "Shake Your Booty", while my kids and I shook the containers. Now we have a rainbow of colored to sprinkle on our sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
PERFECT! Worked out great. Just be sure to lay it out on a plate for a while if it's too moist for spreading onto icing or cookies! Kids loved making the colored sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Thank you so much for the recipe Sue. I forgot to buy some yesterday and it was too cold to go to the store today. Easy recipe. I shook it up in a ziploc bag - works and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Sweet. Let the sugar dry on some tin foil or something after you color it, and if it's got clumps run it through the sieve or sifter. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
great idea! I also added a drop (it takes very little) of candy flavoring ie. peppermint to red, etc. It worked great...although I don't know what that will do to the shelf life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States