Colorado Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
This was great. Quick, easy and delicious. It's good as well from a variety standpoint, as you could easily substitute some of the vegetables. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I thought this rice had an interesting flavor, and I have to say I enjoyed it. However, my family did not like it at all. The recipe made so much, I had to throw alot away. I won't make again because of how long it took and only I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I made this one once before and didn't care for it. The cilantro was WAY overwhelming, as was the carrot. But I tried it again today w/several modifications and really liked it! I reduced the carrot to 1 and chopped it VERY small, and left out the cilantro entirely. :) I also substituted cheddar cheese, as I couldn't find the manchego at the grocery store. I also found I needed to add salt & pepper. So....though it doesn't much resemble the original, it was still tasty. Thank you !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This was a very interesting dish. The final result was great but I changed some things. It was not quick; the vegetables took a long time to cook, so I broiled them instead of baked them halfway through. I also used olive oil on them. They were a little bland; next time I would use some seasoning with them. It also took a LONG time for the vegetable mixture to congeal and the cheese to melt. I also used only one carrot and that was perfect. The potatoes were crispy and the whole thing was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Yum! I didn't have pea and I forgot the sour cream, but who needs the extra calories? This stuff was great! A little work intensive, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Tasty, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
The rice was interesting and good...however I think I would make a few suggestions to make it better next time. First the potatoes and carrots didn't cook all the way through so I think next time I will boil them a little first or cook them seperatly first. Also, I would take the skin off the tomotes once they come out of the oven(it peels off easily) and then puree them and salt and pepper the vegetables in the oven. The whole thing needed salt and my rice didn't brown. I used mozzerlla instead of the suggested cheese and omitted the chili and cerrano......lol although this sounds like a negative review...with the changes I would definately try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Made it exactly as suggested.It just is a little time consuming. The manchego adds a lot of flavor to it. Thanks a lot for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
With some changes, this is a 5 star I believe. The potatoes and carrots were too crunchy for me, so I'd pre-cook those. Other than that we all loved it. It turned out more like risotto than browned or fried rice, but I like that. Very nice flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this for my family when I was 16 and it was delicious. I made too much but it didn't take long for everyone to eat it all. If I can cook it you can too, believe me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States