Colorado Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Way too labor intensive for a basic rice dish... Not very good, i dont plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
God Bless You, PRINCESA!! I tried this after a long day at work and now I cant wait for my husband to get home so we can both sit down and HOG this rice. Absolutely lovely! Only change I made is pureed the tomatoes/onions/garlic while it was still hot.(I was tired, didnt want to wait for it to cool down.) I used to follow a different recipe for Mexican Rice earlier and we would need to jazz it up with all kinds of sides. But this one, I am going to save some and have it for lunch tomorrow! Once again, thanks a tonne for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absolut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I used homemade roasted salsa for the roasted veggies and there were a few chunks that I didn't bother to puree. I placed the carrots in the rice with about ten minutes left and they were perfect. I still tried to do the last step but I just didn't see how the rice was going to brown when it was breaking down so I took it off and added the cheese. It had good flavor but would not be worth the extra steps to me. Mixing the finished ingredients together and warming through worked better for me and I would do it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Ok...needs a kick for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this for my family when I was 16 and it was delicious. I made too much but it didn't take long for everyone to eat it all. If I can cook it you can too, believe me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
With some changes, this is a 5 star I believe. The potatoes and carrots were too crunchy for me, so I'd pre-cook those. Other than that we all loved it. It turned out more like risotto than browned or fried rice, but I like that. Very nice flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Made it exactly as suggested.It just is a little time consuming. The manchego adds a lot of flavor to it. Thanks a lot for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
The rice was interesting and good...however I think I would make a few suggestions to make it better next time. First the potatoes and carrots didn't cook all the way through so I think next time I will boil them a little first or cook them seperatly first. Also, I would take the skin off the tomotes once they come out of the oven(it peels off easily) and then puree them and salt and pepper the vegetables in the oven. The whole thing needed salt and my rice didn't brown. I used mozzerlla instead of the suggested cheese and omitted the chili and cerrano......lol although this sounds like a negative review...with the changes I would definately try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Tasty, quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Yum! I didn't have pea and I forgot the sour cream, but who needs the extra calories? This stuff was great! A little work intensive, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States