Colorado Mexican Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This is a good straight-on dish. Being from Texas, I eat and cook a fair amount of Tex-Mex, Mexican and Southwestern food. This is a comfort food type dish and works extremely well at that. I happened to have some cooked pintos and made my own refried beans. I also had some leftover smoked chicken that I used. I cut back on the bell peppers a bit in deference to my 12 year-old's taste. It was great! I am sure it would have been as good had I stuck to the recipe completely. I will be doing variations of this recipe in the future. It's a fun one to play with not to mention eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
Though this takes a little time to prepare, it is worth it. I did do a short by using packaged pre-coooked smoked chicken. I also cut the amount of refried beans by half...family preference, and used more ground beef. This is a hearty dish, that can feed quite a crowd. Be sure to let sit about 10 minutes, then it slices into nice size serving squares. You can have so much fun changing this recipe around each time you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
This is really, really good. More like a Mexican Lasagna than a pizza, in my opinion. I did cut down on the red and green peppers as I felt it would be too much. Also, I only had a 15oz can of refried beans, but this turned out to be great as I'm afraid it would've been to soggy with the called for amount of 30oz. I also added sliced black olives because we like them. The only other change I would make is serving it with guacamole along with the picante sauce. A keeper, but be warned; this makes a lot! If you're feeding four or less, I'd halve it. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This was OUTRAGEOUS!! Not at all your typical pizza. The flavors were suberb. Prep time was longer than the 45 min. indicated but worth every minute. I will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Sorry - I did not really care for this. It was not yucky, but just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
My husband is not a fan of mexican food, however, he loved this! This recipe is very easy to improvise when you don't have all the ingredients. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This thing is huge!!! I used black beans and only green pepper but it was so yummy. We topped it with tons of guacomole and even the three year old wanted more. Next time I'll cut it in half and freeze the second portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This pizza was very good!!!! I also cut back on the peppers for personal taste. I added a little bit of breakfast sausage and used dried red peppers for more heat. Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe! I had to omit a few things that I didn't have at home: peppers, chicken and some of the seasoning but it was still delicious. I'm not sure why it's called a pizza, it seemed to taste a lot like enchiladas but is made like lasagna. I only made two layers, that's all I had room for. My husband now calls it 'tacosagna'. It makes perfect leftovers! Thanks for the submission!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newlywed1018

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norwalk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this awhile good. It was good I thought kinda of tricky to put together if I remember right but I think it was because I used small wheat tortillas. This could feed an army, I condensed the recipe and made it not so big, I left out the whole chicken layer and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States