Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I can't stop eating this. Absolutely wonderful. I did use some of the tips from other commentors and added a few twists of my own. I added some cubed carrots and used a prepared Salsa Verde with jalapenos added. Also, I did make an olive oil/flour roux to thicken it a bit. If you don't like heat, I would recommend using a tomatillo-only salsa or make your own, leaving out the jalapenos. I used 5 poblanos, roasted in the oven and peeled. Next time, I'll use a few more. Make this recipe. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
made a few modifications and tossed in 2 poblanos and 2 serranos and about a TBSP of fresh cilantro with a doubled recipe. gotta say the clove makes all the difference, this is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Only used about 1 cup of broth, otherwise kept the recipe the same. I used roasted NM Hatch chilis, a jar of salsa verde from Trader Joes. Placed it all in the crock pot 2 hours on high, 4 hours on low and ate the next day....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe, I roasted my own green chilies in the oven at 500 degrees until blistered, then peeled and chopped them when cool. I think it made a great recipe even better. This is a recipe worth jotting down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIE55
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Hey all! So glad you like it. I totally agree, making a roux is a good idea. Or, you could add some diluted corn starch to the end to thicken it - mom does that and I forgot to add that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Good flavor but a little too watery. Next time I will only add 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used beef which was good. I didn't care for the clove in the recipe, so will leave that out in the future. Used 3c chicken broth rather than 5 and that was perfect. Will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Made this recipe tonight and will serve it for dinner tomorrow night when my kids come over. It has a wonderful rich flavor. I'm guessing the roasted green chiles really make it - but the whole thing tastes extremely flavorful. I didn't have the diced tomatoes but used Mexican diced tomatoes. I also made a rue to thicken it at the end. Expecting it to taste even better tomorrow after it sits in the fridge. This recipe is definitely a keeper and worth all the steps it takes to make it. I will use it for green chile burritos for dinner. Yum Yum! And I am a fairly seasoned (no pun intended) cook regarding Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. I don't eat pork, but I was able to substitute for chicken. I roasted my own pepers. Dumped it all in there together and used an immersion blender for a few seconds. Man. Best green chili ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I lived in Colorado for a few years and missed green chili so much! This was amazing. I let it simmer for almost 2 days and near the end, put 4oz of cream cheese into it (a trick I learned in CO. Adds a smoothness without taste). This thickened it that last bit it needed and I have been eating Green chili breakfast burritos for days now. Thank you so much, my neighbors here in Ohio have never even heard of green chili and love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States