Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe, I roasted my own green chilies in the oven at 500 degrees until blistered, then peeled and chopped them when cool. I think it made a great recipe even better. This is a recipe worth jotting down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIE55
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Hey all! So glad you like it. I totally agree, making a roux is a good idea. Or, you could add some diluted corn starch to the end to thicken it - mom does that and I forgot to add that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Good flavor but a little too watery. Next time I will only add 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used beef which was good. I didn't care for the clove in the recipe, so will leave that out in the future. Used 3c chicken broth rather than 5 and that was perfect. Will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Made this recipe tonight and will serve it for dinner tomorrow night when my kids come over. It has a wonderful rich flavor. I'm guessing the roasted green chiles really make it - but the whole thing tastes extremely flavorful. I didn't have the diced tomatoes but used Mexican diced tomatoes. I also made a rue to thicken it at the end. Expecting it to taste even better tomorrow after it sits in the fridge. This recipe is definitely a keeper and worth all the steps it takes to make it. I will use it for green chile burritos for dinner. Yum Yum! And I am a fairly seasoned (no pun intended) cook regarding Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. I don't eat pork, but I was able to substitute for chicken. I roasted my own pepers. Dumped it all in there together and used an immersion blender for a few seconds. Man. Best green chili ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I lived in Colorado for a few years and missed green chili so much! This was amazing. I let it simmer for almost 2 days and near the end, put 4oz of cream cheese into it (a trick I learned in CO. Adds a smoothness without taste). This thickened it that last bit it needed and I have been eating Green chili breakfast burritos for days now. Thank you so much, my neighbors here in Ohio have never even heard of green chili and love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
so delicious. i have never had green chili before, but my husband had some (in okinawa of all places) and loved it, so i searched for recipes and made this having no idea what it would taste like. can i just say its super delicious? holy. cow. i used the canned green chills, the cheapest salsa verde walmart sold and a teeny little pork roast that i chopped up, and it was awesome. i can only imagine how much better it is completely from scratch... so awesome. thank you for sharing this recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love Chile Verde; but, despaired ever finding the perfect recipe. This is it and soooo easy to make! I didn't have any fresh roasted chilies, so I used canned-5 of the little cans to equal 2 cups or so. I increased the garlic to 6 cloves as suggested. I also used 1 can of diced tomatoes with added chilies. I chopped the onion, 2 of the cans of the chilies, the can of tomatoes with juice and the garlic together in my food processor. I browned the cubed pork in olive oil and seasoned it with salt and pepper. Then, all of it, including 4 cups of chicken broth went into my crock pot. Near the end of cooking, I added the dried oregano and the pinch of cloves. I never would have believed that the clove pinch would make such a difference, but it did. I don't usually add cloves to recipes because I don't care for it; however, in this recipe, it is a must! Just before serving, I made a roux of olive oil and flour to thicken the sauce. We made smothered Chile Verde burritos and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. Can eat as soup with dinner or thicken slightly and have over rice. So good I increased the batch size to 25...will make and freeze for this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States