Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
DH is a native Tucsonan who spends quite a bit of time in New Mexico. He asked for green chile tonight, and I knew I didn't have enough time to go low and slow with a traditional recipe. Followed this using other posters' suggestions and my own alterations. Most importantly, because I have Celiac, I found a husband-delighted (he is a tough one!), gluten-free way around the roux other posters felt was necessary. Browned pork; put onion, 2x more garlic than called for, two 8 oz. cans of Herdez salsa verde, and one 13 oz. tub of thawed Buena roasted green chile in food processor, pulsed. Removed pork to a plate. Put processed veggie goodness into pan with a bit more heated oil, scraped up browned pork goodness, added a heaping tsp. of ground coriander, 1 good Tb. of cumin, and the pinch of clove called for. Simmered down; added tomatoes, pork. Simmered another 20-30 minutes; added 1 15 oz. can refried beans (gluten-free) and 1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed. Simmer again for a bit and good to go. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
turned out great, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
We love this recipe. I only use 2-3 cups of broths and use cornstarch to thicken. I try to use fresh Anaheim peppers whenever possible for the green chilies. I've even used fresh tomatillos and they add to the recipe flavor. This is a GREAT recipe to tweek to your families tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Randall

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I can't stop eating this. Absolutely wonderful. I did use some of the tips from other commentors and added a few twists of my own. I added some cubed carrots and used a prepared Salsa Verde with jalapenos added. Also, I did make an olive oil/flour roux to thicken it a bit. If you don't like heat, I would recommend using a tomatillo-only salsa or make your own, leaving out the jalapenos. I used 5 poblanos, roasted in the oven and peeled. Next time, I'll use a few more. Make this recipe. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
made a few modifications and tossed in 2 poblanos and 2 serranos and about a TBSP of fresh cilantro with a doubled recipe. gotta say the clove makes all the difference, this is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Only used about 1 cup of broth, otherwise kept the recipe the same. I used roasted NM Hatch chilis, a jar of salsa verde from Trader Joes. Placed it all in the crock pot 2 hours on high, 4 hours on low and ate the next day....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe, I roasted my own green chilies in the oven at 500 degrees until blistered, then peeled and chopped them when cool. I think it made a great recipe even better. This is a recipe worth jotting down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIE55
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Hey all! So glad you like it. I totally agree, making a roux is a good idea. Or, you could add some diluted corn starch to the end to thicken it - mom does that and I forgot to add that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Good flavor but a little too watery. Next time I will only add 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used beef which was good. I didn't care for the clove in the recipe, so will leave that out in the future. Used 3c chicken broth rather than 5 and that was perfect. Will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States