Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I love this recipe, its so simple! I did switch to pork chops though, the stew meat is easier, but cubed up pork chops was so much better. Also i used the full amount of tomatillo sauce and it made it pretty spicy, but it had an amazing flavor. Im not sure if my tomatillo sauce was just hotter then most but i do recomend adding a little less. You can always add more later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I found this recipe to be a nice change from more traditional dishes. My family loved it and I have made it several times in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This green chili recipe was amazing! The only thing I did differently was cut down on the chicken broth & cooked it in my crock pot. Let's just say my family ate it all up in one night! I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Best green chili recipe ever! I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe, and I've tried a few! The only 2 adjustments I made were I increased the garlic to 6 cloves and decreased the chicken broth to 4 cups. If you want it a little thicker, decrease the broth by another cup because you always add more if it's too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I LOVED this recipe!! I had leftover meat from pulled pork so I used that. I prefer my green chile shredded instead of chunk so it was perfect. I cut down the broth to 3 cans and omitted the clove only because I'm not a fan of clove so I was afraid to use it. I made sure some of the seeds from the chilies made it into the pot so it would have an extra kick....and WOW!!!!!! Rosie....you made me a very HAPPY girl with this recipe!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
DH is a native Tucsonan who spends quite a bit of time in New Mexico. He asked for green chile tonight, and I knew I didn't have enough time to go low and slow with a traditional recipe. Followed this using other posters' suggestions and my own alterations. Most importantly, because I have Celiac, I found a husband-delighted (he is a tough one!), gluten-free way around the roux other posters felt was necessary. Browned pork; put onion, 2x more garlic than called for, two 8 oz. cans of Herdez salsa verde, and one 13 oz. tub of thawed Buena roasted green chile in food processor, pulsed. Removed pork to a plate. Put processed veggie goodness into pan with a bit more heated oil, scraped up browned pork goodness, added a heaping tsp. of ground coriander, 1 good Tb. of cumin, and the pinch of clove called for. Simmered down; added tomatoes, pork. Simmered another 20-30 minutes; added 1 15 oz. can refried beans (gluten-free) and 1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed. Simmer again for a bit and good to go. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
turned out great, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
We love this recipe. I only use 2-3 cups of broths and use cornstarch to thicken. I try to use fresh Anaheim peppers whenever possible for the green chilies. I've even used fresh tomatillos and they add to the recipe flavor. This is a GREAT recipe to tweek to your families tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Randall

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I can't stop eating this. Absolutely wonderful. I did use some of the tips from other commentors and added a few twists of my own. I added some cubed carrots and used a prepared Salsa Verde with jalapenos added. Also, I did make an olive oil/flour roux to thicken it a bit. If you don't like heat, I would recommend using a tomatillo-only salsa or make your own, leaving out the jalapenos. I used 5 poblanos, roasted in the oven and peeled. Next time, I'll use a few more. Make this recipe. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States