Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I started off with some dried onion, chicken base, chopped hatch chilies, garlic powder & a bottle of dark beer. I added this along with pork chunks to the crock pot. After 8-9 hrs, I fried a little with some of the juices adding the canned tomatillos, chopped fresh tomatoes, cilantro, a dash of GOYA Adobo seasoning. Tossed on green onions and tortillas and you have a WINNING DINNER!! My husband is Mexican, he gave this an 11 1/2 + , he loved it so much, his eyes rolled in the back of his head!! Need I say more? Just make it and you too will see what I'm talking about! THANK YOU ROSIE55! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Delicious!!! Used 4 cups broth and thickened with alittle cornstarch. Used 1 cup fresh roasted hatch chiles cause Im a wimp and my hubby added more to his bowl. Did not add cloves as I believe it would taste weird. I will save them for the pie and ham. Used fire roasted tomatoes for that extra smokey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This is really good! Let it cook and cook and cook... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
There is something about Colorado style green chili you just can't find anywhere else. This recipe does a great job capturing my home state's flavor. I definitely recommend using fire roasted chilies. The canned stuff just doesn't cut it. Also, I used Rotel in place of the canned tomatoes. You can go as hot as you like here if your chilies are a little mild. Instead of pork chunks, I used ground pork. I know, not the traditional way, but I like making big batches so I can make tons of homemade burritos for breakfast and lunch. You get a little pork with every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I love this recipe, its so simple! I did switch to pork chops though, the stew meat is easier, but cubed up pork chops was so much better. Also i used the full amount of tomatillo sauce and it made it pretty spicy, but it had an amazing flavor. Im not sure if my tomatillo sauce was just hotter then most but i do recomend adding a little less. You can always add more later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I found this recipe to be a nice change from more traditional dishes. My family loved it and I have made it several times in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This green chili recipe was amazing! The only thing I did differently was cut down on the chicken broth & cooked it in my crock pot. Let's just say my family ate it all up in one night! I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Best green chili recipe ever! I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe, and I've tried a few! The only 2 adjustments I made were I increased the garlic to 6 cloves and decreased the chicken broth to 4 cups. If you want it a little thicker, decrease the broth by another cup because you always add more if it's too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I LOVED this recipe!! I had leftover meat from pulled pork so I used that. I prefer my green chile shredded instead of chunk so it was perfect. I cut down the broth to 3 cans and omitted the clove only because I'm not a fan of clove so I was afraid to use it. I made sure some of the seeds from the chilies made it into the pot so it would have an extra kick....and WOW!!!!!! Rosie....you made me a very HAPPY girl with this recipe!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States