Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I love green chili. My favorite is from King Chef Diner in Colorado Springs. Despite loving it, I have never made it, nor any chili, until tonight. My son's crew team had a chili cook off, and this recipe won 1ST PLACE -- "BY A LANDSLIDE!" Reading the comments, I did add twice the garlic and thickened it with an olive oil/flour rue. I also added a pinch of cumin when browning the pork. I would say it is beginner's luck, but I think you have a keeper, Rosie! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
A friend brought this to work; she added Black Beans. It was marvelous! I'm printing out the recipe to make it myself. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Louise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
good, probably do not noeed the chicken stock, makes it too soupy. But otherwise flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I am Colorado girl and huge green chili fan. I added a little flour to my pork and onion mixture to make it thicker. I also had to use beef broth instead of chicken and it still turned out most excellent. I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Abbott

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This recipe was just okay, but lacked the green chili flavor and was far too 'soupy.' The picture was VERY deceiving, making it look far more substantial than the dish actually was. I used two cups less of the chicken stock, and I still had to eat this with a spoon like it was a stew or soup. If I were to make it again, I'd use a lot more green chilies, omit the tomatoes, and cut down on the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I used a slow cooker and it's cooking right now! Smells so yummy! I made a few changes I found from other reviewers. I cubed about 1 1/2lbs pork shoulder then I used Target's Archer Farms Roasted Salsa Verde with 1/4 jar of Archer Farms Roasted Tomato and Chipotle (both picante style salsa). I only used 1/4 b/c my husband doesn't like things too spicy. Added canned Fire Roasted Tomatoes, 3 cups broth and from Walmart can of Tres Hermanas Fire Roasted Whole Green Chilis (mild, of course) chopped, (didn't see any blackened chili flakes in the can like with the tomatoes so I'm not really sure of the quality but probably good for this recipe) and doubled on the oregano (mexican). Side note: I actually liked the taste from the jar AF Salsa Verde. Most I have found aren't very favorable or poor quality. AF really is delish on it own for dipping, on burritos, tacos, etc. I know without all the changes this would be an excellent recipe all on it's own. What a great idea to use cloves. Thank you Rosiess and am now a follower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Very, Very, Good. Green Chili Powder makes this even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Made this for Super Bowl '14....Rave reviews. I agree with the reviews and cut down the Broth. I did roast some of my own peppers for a fabulous fresh flavor. I served it in a bowl, like a chili, topped with chopped cilantro, sour cream, and grated cheddar with warm flour tortilla's for dipping....A REALLY BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I like this, the boyfriend REALLY liked it. We're having leftovers tomorrow. I put in 2 cups broth and it was still extremely liquidy like soup though. And the cubed meat we bought was cubed pork chops, not the best... Pork shoulder cut into cubes would have been 100% better but I bought what my grocery store offered that I could make in a timely manner, on a weeknight. To make it the best, it would have taken a lot longer and I didn't have that kind of time tonight. I will try again with pork shoulder. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This recipe reminds me of my Mom's version of chili verde. I absolutely LOVE it. I had been making another recipe from this site for the longest (one that does not have tomatoes in it) until I found this one. Wish I had seen this one first seeing as how my husband hates this one. He never tasted chili verde before I made it & he is not a fan of tomatoes so when I tried this recipe on him he was shocked to say the least. Great recipe, just wish I could make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States