Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Good recipe, but I don't understand the "Colorado" reference. Green chile comes from New Mexico, not Colorado. And "chile colorado" refers to red chile, not green chile, so that can't be it. But hey, follow this recipe with some New Mexico green chile, and it's not bad. Leave out the tomatillo salsa and double the green chile, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I think that there was too much liquid in this recipe, which diluted the spices and made it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
You can roast chiles on the bbq. It only takes 15 min. I cook them till they're brown and toss in a plastic bag for about 1 hour. The peelings slip right off and they taste amazing. Fresh! Can chiles do not compare. I also sprinkle flour on meat prior to browning. This will help create a thicker base when you add green chile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I love green chili. My favorite is from King Chef Diner in Colorado Springs. Despite loving it, I have never made it, nor any chili, until tonight. My son's crew team had a chili cook off, and this recipe won 1ST PLACE -- "BY A LANDSLIDE!" Reading the comments, I did add twice the garlic and thickened it with an olive oil/flour rue. I also added a pinch of cumin when browning the pork. I would say it is beginner's luck, but I think you have a keeper, Rosie! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
A friend brought this to work; she added Black Beans. It was marvelous! I'm printing out the recipe to make it myself. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Louise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
good, probably do not noeed the chicken stock, makes it too soupy. But otherwise flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I am Colorado girl and huge green chili fan. I added a little flour to my pork and onion mixture to make it thicker. I also had to use beef broth instead of chicken and it still turned out most excellent. I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Abbott

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This recipe lacked the green chili flavor and was far too 'soupy.' I used two cups less of the chicken stock, and I still had to eat this with a spoon like it was a stew or soup. If I were to make it again, I'd use a lot more green chilies, omit the tomatoes, and cut down on the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I used a slow cooker and it's cooking right now! Smells so yummy! I made a few changes I found from other reviewers. I cubed about 1 1/2lbs pork shoulder then I used Target's Archer Farms Roasted Salsa Verde with 1/4 jar of Archer Farms Roasted Tomato and Chipotle (both picante style salsa). I only used 1/4 b/c my husband doesn't like things too spicy. Added canned Fire Roasted Tomatoes, 3 cups broth and from Walmart can of Tres Hermanas Fire Roasted Whole Green Chilis (mild, of course) chopped, (didn't see any blackened chili flakes in the can like with the tomatoes so I'm not really sure of the quality but probably good for this recipe) and doubled on the oregano (mexican). Side note: I actually liked the taste from the jar AF Salsa Verde. Most I have found aren't very favorable or poor quality. AF really is delish on it own for dipping, on burritos, tacos, etc. I know without all the changes this would be an excellent recipe all on it's own. What a great idea to use cloves. Thank you Rosiess and am now a follower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Very, Very, Good. Green Chili Powder makes this even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States