Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This recipe was just okay, but lacked the green chili flavor and was far too 'soupy.' The picture was VERY deceiving, making it look far more substantial than the dish actually was. I used two cups less of the chicken stock, and I still had to eat this with a spoon like it was a stew or soup. If I were to make it again, I'd use a lot more green chilies, omit the tomatoes, and cut down on the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I used a slow cooker and it's cooking right now! Smells so yummy! I made a few changes I found from other reviewers. I cubed about 1 1/2lbs pork shoulder then I used Target's Archer Farms Roasted Salsa Verde with 1/4 jar of Archer Farms Roasted Tomato and Chipotle (both picante style salsa). I only used 1/4 b/c my husband doesn't like things too spicy. Added canned Fire Roasted Tomatoes, 3 cups broth and from Walmart can of Tres Hermanas Fire Roasted Whole Green Chilis (mild, of course) chopped, (didn't see any blackened chili flakes in the can like with the tomatoes so I'm not really sure of the quality but probably good for this recipe) and doubled on the oregano (mexican). Side note: I actually liked the taste from the jar AF Salsa Verde. Most I have found aren't very favorable or poor quality. AF really is delish on it own for dipping, on burritos, tacos, etc. I know without all the changes this would be an excellent recipe all on it's own. What a great idea to use cloves. Thank you Rosiess and am now a follower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Very, Very, Good. Green Chili Powder makes this even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Made this for Super Bowl '14....Rave reviews. I agree with the reviews and cut down the Broth. I did roast some of my own peppers for a fabulous fresh flavor. I served it in a bowl, like a chili, topped with chopped cilantro, sour cream, and grated cheddar with warm flour tortilla's for dipping....A REALLY BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I like this, the boyfriend REALLY liked it. We're having leftovers tomorrow. I put in 2 cups broth and it was still extremely liquidy like soup though. And the cubed meat we bought was cubed pork chops, not the best... Pork shoulder cut into cubes would have been 100% better but I bought what my grocery store offered that I could make in a timely manner, on a weeknight. To make it the best, it would have taken a lot longer and I didn't have that kind of time tonight. I will try again with pork shoulder. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This recipe reminds me of my Mom's version of chili verde. I absolutely LOVE it. I had been making another recipe from this site for the longest (one that does not have tomatoes in it) until I found this one. Wish I had seen this one first seeing as how my husband hates this one. He never tasted chili verde before I made it & he is not a fan of tomatoes so when I tried this recipe on him he was shocked to say the least. Great recipe, just wish I could make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This stuff is amazing! I got my roasted chiles and tomatillo sauce from work, browned the meat (pork shoulder), onions and garlic, then threw all ingredients in the slow cooker. I used 4 c. chicken stock and diced tomatoes with jalepenos. Cooked undisturbed for 7 hours on low. At this point still very watery, so added olive oil/flour roux. This is also when I strained out my 2 c. of veggies and pureed in blender. Do not omit this step!! Then I turned slow cooker up to high and simmered one hour. It was perfect!!! Quite spicy, and so delicious on breakfast burritos. Really took me back to the first and only time I ever had Colorado green chili, which I've been dreaming about for the past decade! I brought half the pot to the cooks at work for their professional opinion, and they loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrytheterrifyc
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Simple yet delicious!! Great use for my freshly canned green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I love this recipe and have made it twice now. I live in Seattle and used canned chillies (3mild and 1 hot...still spicy) and sour cream on top. This is great! Thanks Rosie for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States