Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I used my own homemade salsa verde. Since I didnt have any green chilies, I used about 4 cans of diced fire roasted green chilies. I served mine over cheese enchiladas! MMM.....Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Wow! I lived in Colorado for several years and had lots of chili verde but this is the best I've ever had, or made! I must say that I wasn't keen on the tomatillo sauce because I don't care for it but after cooking, resting, reheating and eating that and the pinch of cloves made the dish fantastic!!! I recommend that each person make the recipe for the first time exactly as written. If you want to make changes after that then do. I also recommend making one day, cooling in fridge overnight and then reheating for best taste. Once again, the biggest surprise was the pinch of ground cloves......really makes the dish. Served ontop of freshly mashed potatoes. OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Perfect Colorado green chili recipe! After browning the meat, onion and garlic I cook mine in the slow cooker - and boy is it ever good. Try and use roasted green chiles - we can get them at farmer's markets and frozen during the off season. In the fall, I usually buy a half bushel of XXX dynamite and half bushel of pueblos and freeze them for use throughout the year. This green chili is PERFECT for breakfast burritos! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
We LOVED this recipe. It was a nice change from tomato based chili. Being from Ohio, I could not find the right green chilies. So I roasted two poblano's in the oven and used a can of diced green chilies and a half a can of jalapeno. We served it over mashed potatoes which balanced out the heat from the chili nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
We really loved this chili! I even like it better than traditional red chili. Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
so delicious. i have never had green chili before, but my husband had some (in okinawa of all places) and loved it, so i searched for recipes and made this having no idea what it would taste like. can i just say its super delicious? holy. cow. i used the canned green chills, the cheapest salsa verde walmart sold and a teeny little pork roast that i chopped up, and it was awesome. i can only imagine how much better it is completely from scratch... so awesome. thank you for sharing this recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I lived in Colorado for a few years and missed green chili so much! This was amazing. I let it simmer for almost 2 days and near the end, put 4oz of cream cheese into it (a trick I learned in CO. Adds a smoothness without taste). This thickened it that last bit it needed and I have been eating Green chili breakfast burritos for days now. Thank you so much, my neighbors here in Ohio have never even heard of green chili and love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love Chile Verde; but, despaired ever finding the perfect recipe. This is it and soooo easy to make! I didn't have any fresh roasted chilies, so I used canned-5 of the little cans to equal 2 cups or so. I increased the garlic to 6 cloves as suggested. I also used 1 can of diced tomatoes with added chilies. I chopped the onion, 2 of the cans of the chilies, the can of tomatoes with juice and the garlic together in my food processor. I browned the cubed pork in olive oil and seasoned it with salt and pepper. Then, all of it, including 4 cups of chicken broth went into my crock pot. Near the end of cooking, I added the dried oregano and the pinch of cloves. I never would have believed that the clove pinch would make such a difference, but it did. I don't usually add cloves to recipes because I don't care for it; however, in this recipe, it is a must! Just before serving, I made a roux of olive oil and flour to thicken the sauce. We made smothered Chile Verde burritos and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Just won first place in the company chili cook-off with this recipe! I doubled the recipe to yeild 12 servings, but reduced the liquids...only used 4 cups chicken broth and drained the tomatoes; this gave a perfect "chili-like" consistancy. Substituted pablano & anaheim for Big Jim chiles since I live in the mid-west and couldn't get any Big Jim. It was a sure hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amandy_cooks!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is absolutely delicious. Can eat as soup with dinner or thicken slightly and have over rice. So good I increased the batch size to 25...will make and freeze for this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States